Kaffeine – A Lovely Latte in London

Oh my, my, my.

This might have been the best latte I’ve ever had.  In fact, I would go so far to say that it was the best latter I’ve ever had.  A bold statement?  Perhaps, but I’m willing to stand behind this one.  Maybe I loved this cup so much because I had been going through serious I-miss-quality-coffee withdrawal,  but I don’t think so.  This latte really was that good.

What made it so good?  I could go into a long essay about my ideas on the perfect cup of coffee, including what type of milk should be used and the proper temperature, but I’ll spare you.  besides, i think i’ve already done that.

It was a cold Sunday, not painfully cold, though.  My nose and ears didn’t burn like they did last December, but my fingers stiffened and I felt the need for a hot-drink.  Luckily, I had a map that directed me to an amazing little coffee shop just a bit off of Oxford Street.

After getting lost for a bit and only a couple strange tourist encounters (including an asian tourist who asked me which bus to take to get to the tower of london…I can’t even comment), I made it to the café.

There was a clean mix of shabby and modern decor inside.  Although there wasn’t much seating, they packed all they could into their small space.  There were three tall tables in a line facing the bar, a counter facing the window and a selection wooden crates in the back that could be configured into seats and tables.  Like all cafes, they had music playing, but it wasn’t loud or obtrusive, it simply accented the atmosphere.

Usually when you go to cafes in New York, there is a pervasive too-hip attitude from the baristas.  Even at Starbucks.  I didn’t get that at Kaffeine; they greeted  me with a smile and eagerly took my order.  To say that I was overjoyed by that is, frankly, an understatement.  An amazing coffee and no attitude?  Lovely!

To top it all off, instead of waiting awkwardly at the bar and pretending that your ipod touch is actually an iphone, you can sit and wait for them to bring your drink to you.

Yes, I repeat, they brought my drink to me.  Frankly, if that doesn’t create a winning latte at a winning cafe, I don’t know what does.

Kaffeine on Urbanspoon

Do you enjoy trying new cafes when traveling?  

2 thoughts on “Kaffeine – A Lovely Latte in London

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday: Flat White « emilialiveslife

  2. Pingback: Cafe Shock: Barista’s Coffee Collective « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

