Babycakes – The Very Good Vegan Cupcake

I made the walk from the Broadway-Lafayette station along Broadway to the extreme east one too many times whilst I was in high school.  And, by that, I mean that I made that journey once and it was too many times.  So, you can imagine the state of mind I had to be in to push myself to make the walk to Babycakes.

Visiting this bakery has been on my to-do list for quite some time now.  Vegan cupcakes that are as good, if not better, than your traditional butter and egg laden mini cake?  Sign me up!  Just don’t sign me up for actually going there.

Yet, I finally managed to make the journey, with only minor scars afterwards (nearly slipping on some ice in front of a chinese warehouse, practically getting sneezed on, no big…).  I was in the neighborhood exploring and had an excellent cup of coffee in my hand, so what stood before me didn’t seem so bad.  Someone should have reminded me what distances are like on the Lower East Side.  They’re monumental.

The actual store-front is adorable.  It’s pink, cute and resembles what I expect a classic bakery to look like.  There’s something slightly retro about it, but it manages to feel new and fresh at the same time.  While there are touches of pink in the store, they aren’t obtrusive.  They are subtle and serve to accent the general classic atmosphere.

When I walked in I wasn’t sure what I was going to order.  I almost thought they would have two options and I’d just get those.  Wrong, Emilia, so wrong.  They have a wide variety of different cupcakes, including some made with different flours (I only realized this after ordering).  If you have any type of allergy, this place will accommodate it.  Looking in the small display case that houses their army of cupcakes, I quickly chose a vanilla-vanilla and a pumpkin cinnamon.

They have more than just cupcakes (I hear they are quite famous for their doughnuts), biscuits, loaf cakes and cookies can all be found there, but I was in a bit of a shock that I just got my two mini cakes and left.

Now, I’m more than a fan of vegan cuisine and understand that it can be (and is) superior to omnivore cuisine.  I was, however, a bit skeptical that a vegan cupcake could be superior to my beloved Crumbs cupcakes.  While I wouldn’t say they were exactly superior, they were extremely good.

The vanilla flavor tasted so much like vanilla, with a dense moist cake and rich creamy frosting, while the pumpkin cinnamon had a noticeable moist pumpkin undertone with an almost cream-cheese like frosting.  While I really enjoyed both cupcakes, I loved the frosting on the vanilla cupcake.

Now to decide if I can stand to make the journey back to try some of their chocolate cupcakes…

What is one restaurant/bakery you’ve always wanted to try, but never have?

Babycakes NYC on Urbanspoon

Have a comment?

