Kaffe 1668

There are several things that I look for in a perfect cafe.  Ample seating, good ambiance and good coffee are all three non-negotiable essentials.  Well, I’m happy to say that I’ve found the most perfect cafe thus far on this side of the Atlantic.

One wintry January morning, in an effort to taste some of the best coffee NYC has to offer, I found myself at Kaffe 1668.  It’s a rather large cafe  in Tribeca, dark and cosy inside, with plenty of seating for plenty of people.  I’ve heard it described as a neighborhood cafe and that term sums up the ethos of this cafe quite well.  It’s inviting, it’s cosy, it will have space for you, whoever you are, you are welcome to come in and sit down.

I was entranced nearly immediately.  I stood, wide-eyed, taking in everything.  The music, the look, it was simply gorgeous.

Now, I wish I could say that the coffee was the best I’ve ever tasted.  I wish I was telling you that my search could end (though that would be a wee bit melancholy now, wouldn’t it?).  Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case.  The coffee wasn’t bad per se, it just wasn’t my ideal cup.

Everything was there to make it someone else’s perfect latte, but it wasn’t mine.   With the first sip I was struck by sweet ovetones which dominated the cup.  Was it sweetened?  No, I concluded after a couple sips.  What I was dealing with here was simply a light roast.  The milk was sweet and enhancing the nature of the coffee.

I didn’t love it, but I appreciated that it was indeed a good latte.  If I went back next time, I would try one of their single origin coffees, of which they have many.  Nevertheless, I know I’ll be back.  Because I truly loved the cafe that much.

What’s one feature of your perfect cafe or restaurant?

 

Kaffe 1668 on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Kaffe 1668

  1. Pingback: Boston Tea Party: Park One « emilialiveslife

  2. Pingback: And We’re Back: Irving Farm Coffee « emilialiveslife

  3. Pingback: Grandaisy’s Croissant | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

