And We’re Back: Irving Farm Coffee

There are lots of thing I take for granted when I’m in New York.  Unsurprisingly, they are the very things that I miss oh-so-very much when I’m at uni.  Though I highly enjoy being able to walk everywhere, have oodles of reading time thanks to the subway and get international magazines, one of my favorite take-it-for-granted things is New York coffee.

I know, I blog about coffee all the time.  It seems like I really do appreciate it, but the second I arrive in New York, I forget the poor-quality of the cappuccini that plague the rest of the world.

So, in the spirit of drinking as much good coffee as I can during the spring holidays, I begun my quest at Irving Farm Coffee, a unique little cafe with two locations in New York.  Some people go to Florida during spring break, I drink coffee.  I think I have the better deal.

Irving Farm Coffee has two shops in New York, one on Irving Place and one on 7th Avenue.  Again, close together.  Interesting.

Their speciality seems to be that they roast their own beans and make their own blend.  The beans are roasted in upstate New York (for me, it’s upstate, I think it’s really only Hudson) and are shipped down to their cafes.  They also sell them, pre-ground at Whole Foods.  It’s all very hip and you can read about it here.

So, how was the coffee, you ask?

To be honest, I expected better.  The coffee was fine, but it was on par with something I would expect to find in Bristol.  I may have even found better coffee in Bristol.  My cappuccino had a lovely cap of foam, but the flavor was exceedingly light, milky and border-line watery.  I didn’t love it, not really.

The cafe on the other hand, well, that was a different story.

I’m constantly looking for cute cafes, places that make me want to sit for hours reading, writing and chatting with friends.  I have previously sung the praises of Boston Tea Party as epitomizing this type of cafe, with a hunch that Kaffe 1668 could become a personal mecca, but Irving Farm has the potential to blow both of them out of the water.

The cafe itself has surprisingly ample seating with traditional circular cafe tables and chairs.  They serve a wide variety of food, from sandwiches and salads to muffins and cupcakes.  When I went, I had a parmesan and olive focaccia that was quite good.  Better than my cappuccino, I’d venture to say.

The real draw of the cafe for me, however, was the darkness.  It felt like a little cave with people typing away on their macbook pros (this is New York after all, what did you expect?) and chatting with friends.  The space feels intimate, but not suffocating.  In fact, I can’t wait to stop by again when out shopping.  Perfect for those times when you need something casual and low-key, but with personality.  Or for those times when you want a meal, but your friend only wants a muffin (though, as we know, they can be very filling).

Basically, I’m not going back for the coffee, but I will go back for the ambiance.

What is one thing that you take for granted about your hometown/current city?

Irving Farm Coffee Co on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “And We’re Back: Irving Farm Coffee

  1. Josie

    I love that you say uni! We say that in Australia but its not commonly used in the US.

    I have lived in a few cities and I think I’ve taken a few things for granted. Melbourne (Australia) has amazing coffee and the outdoorsy culture is lovely. In Mexico, the food is delicious and cheap (although I did actually appreciate that). And in NYC, there is so much happening all the time! Museums, parks, concerts, late night movie screenings, 2am food deliveries.

    Oops just realised you only asked for one thing… but there ya go :)

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Haha, uni is one of the few british-isms that I’ve picked up and can’t let go of. My American friends are always a bit confused by the fact I don’t call university “college” (so not the same thing!)

      The more the merrier with great aspects about cities! Melbourne sounds absolutely amazing, definitely jealous of the amazing coffee. Not to mention, I can imagine that the cheap food in Mexico is to die for. So cool that you’ve lived in all of those cities, it must have been amazing to see all the cultural differences. :)

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Best NYC Cafes for Brunch | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

