Maison Kayser’s Croissant

I love the fact that checking up on food news every morning is part of my internship.  I get to look at google news!  Sometimes I head to Eater, Grubstreet and Huffington Post: Food when I can’t find anything on google!  It’s amazing to be able to do something that, hey, I’m going to be doing anyway and get rewarded (I hope) for it.  I have to pinch myself constantly to remind myself how intensely lucky I am to have this internship this summer.

While looking for hard hitting coffee news, I found out that famed Parisian bakery, Maison Kayser, was planning on opening several locations in New York.  The first thing I did was email my mother and tell her that we must get a croissant there this summer.  Lucky for me, there opening process didn’t seem quite as daunting as Laduree, who promised us a location in New York for at least a year before we saw any signs of life.  I was overjoyed when Eater proclaimed Maison Kayser’s location between 74th and 75th on 3rd Avenue certified open.  And I knew exactly when I would be going there, the day of my visa appointment.

Since nothing clams the nerves quite like a good croissant and bad google maps directions, I went to Maison Kayser an hour before my visa appointment.  I gazed at the arrangement of breads and pastries and spent a moment ogling the cafe area.  I would have sat down if I wasn’t worried about being late after having read stories that described their service as lacking.  I got my croissant to go, pointing to the exact one I wanted, much to the chagrin of the guy who helped me.  When they placed the little wax paper bag in my hands, I gripped it excitedly and ran as fast as I could to the park to sit down and eat my pastry.

Now, I’d been waiting for this for a while.  I expected it to be one of the best things I’d ever eaten.  While I loved it, I’m not sure if it was truly my favorite croissant.  It tasted like a dried version of ceci-cela’s famed butter behemoth, but in a good way.  The butter taste was pure and creamy, the layers were smooth and flaky.  My problem?  Where was my delightfuly crackly crust?

Honestly, if I had eaten this in a proper setting sitting down I expect that I would be telling you that it is the best croissant in New York.  Right now, however, it’s one of the best.  I prefer it to Ceci-Cela, but not quite as much as Dominque Ansel or Almondine.  The outer shell is one of my favorite parts of a croissant and without that there, I’m just not prepared to call it my favorite.

As Maison Kayser opens more locations around New York and I have the good fortune to encounter this croissant more and more, I expect that I will develop very fond feelings for this extremely French pastry.

UPDATED: I went back the next day and I can report that the pain au chocolat is okay, but it gets a bit stale by the afternoon.  The coffee is completely forgettable.  The baguette?  One of the best I’ve ever eaten in New York.

Do you prefer to eat alfresco or inside?
Maison Kayser on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Maison Kayser’s Croissant

  1. Pingback: The Croissant from Le Moulin a Café in Yorkville | Emilia Lives Life

Have a comment?

