Breakfast at Iris Café in Brooklyn Heights

Cortado

What if I changed the focus of my blog to the search for the best yogurt bowl in the city?  Compelling, no?  The yogurt bowl is painfully overlooked at the breakfast and brunch table when dining out.  It’s not quite fair.  Decadent enough to rival even the most elaborate pancake, the yogurt bowl is about 100x more delicious.  At least, when done properly.

You see, the yogurt bowl should not merely be a bit of yogurt with ho-hum granola tossed on top.  Oh no, it’s so much more.  I want thick, creamy yogurt; the whole variety that I never rarely buy because, well, I’d like to keep looking good in my summer shorts.  I want a generous handful of granola on top, more than I’d ever add myself (see above for my reasoning).  Yes, the granola bowl is the epitome of decadence.  It’s practically ice cream or fro-yo for breakfast.

Yesterday, I went to Iris Cafè in Brooklyn Heights for breakfast.  Everything in my refrigerator had melted in the infernal heat and the idea of going out for groceries turned my stomach.  Let’s indulge!  It’s Friday!  I took the pleasantly cool subway, walked briskly through the shaded streets and arrived at the cafe, eager to cool off.

The online world will tell you that Iris Cafe has had a recent redesign and, while I didn’t know them before they updated their image, you’d have a hard time convincing me that they could be any better.  Inside manages to be both cozy and light thanks to the contrast between dark wood panelling and large bay windows.  The ambiance is not quite French, but not quite New York.  It’s that pleasant meet between the two that allows New Yorkers to pretend they are oh-so European.  We like to do that.

Yogurt and Granola

I glanced at the menu and, though I was seriously tempted to order a biscuit, decided to get breakfast at breakfast time (biscuits and scones are a bit odd to eat outside of tea time or elevenses to me).  The yogurt bowl was also offered with fresh fruit for an extra two dollars, but I’m a university student and cheap and yadda yadda yadda.  I chose a cortado to drink, since The Scoop app led me there.

I have a feeling I’ll be back.

My yogurt bowl had a great ratio of yogurt-to-granola, I’d estimate it to be about 2:1.  The yogurt was plain, creamy without that unpleasant tang.  The granola was sweet and crunchy, duh, but it didn’t feel overly-candy liked.  Mixed together, it did feel a bit like eating a cookie for breakfast.  See?  It really is how health-conscious New Yorkers pretend to be European.  Fruit would have been a lovely addition, raisins would have been as well, but not worth the extra money.

My cortado was good, much better than you find at the average European-esque breakfast spot, but it wasn’t perfect.  It was chocolatey and rich — not exactly ideal for a hot day — with a grapefruit acidity.  Slightly bitter, slightly astringent; I was glad I didn’t order the macchiato.  Perfect with milk, but a bit tough to drink without it.  It was, hands down, something I have a feeling Italians would hate.

There’s something so indulgent, so fun, so rule-breakingly luxurious about eating breakfast out during the week.  Instead of reading the news over your healthy toast, you can read a book over indulgent yogurt.  Instead of making your own coffee, you can get someone to make you some espresso.  We should all take a few moments to enjoy ourselves and have a breakfast outside next week.  You’re worth it.

What is your favorite breakfast to eat out of the house?

Iris Cafe on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Breakfast at Iris Café in Brooklyn Heights

  1. Pingback: Scenes from New York City: Brooklyn Heights | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

