Nutella/Gianduia Brownies (or faux-blondies)

This morning I set a record for the amount of time spent between seeing a recipe and baking it.  About an hour, tops.  My usual recipe-perusing style includes bookmarking a zillion things I know I’ll never bake just because I like the pictures.  Or because at that moment a rainbow cake in a jar sounds really good to me (hey, I actually want to make that…).

While searching through my google reader I stumbled upon this post on Girl Meets Life.  The image alone was enough to start me mentally drooling, the list of ingredients made me want to jump into the kitchen.  Yet, somehow I got it into my head that these would be even better with nutella.  That’s right nutella.

Now, I’m an Italian snob, I get it.  I haven’t bought nutella in ages; it isn’t proper gianduia.  Now that Eataly is open, I can pop in and get high quality stuff that actually tastes like hazelnuts whenever I want it.  Even though there was a jar of the good stuff (caffarel gianduia) sitting in the pantry, I didn’t want to waste it.  Thus, nutella blondies were born.

They aren’t exactly brownies, not quite chocolatey enough for that.  I don’t know if you can properly call them blondies since they have nutella in them, but that doesn’t really matter now, does it?  They’re dense, yet light.  Chewy and fudgy, yet cakey too.  Sure to please everyone, they’re nutella brownies (or faux blondies).

Nutella/Gianduia Faux-Blondies  (adapted from Girl Meets Life and Simply Sugar and Gluten Free)

4 tbsp Earth Balance

1/3 cup agave

1/4 cup yogurt (I used plain coconut)

1/2 cup nutella (or other gianduia spread)

1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax + 3 tbsp water)

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/8 tsp salt

Optional: chocolate chips or roasted hazelnuts

Preheat oven to 350 F and grease an 8 x8″ pan.

Melt earth balance and whisk with agave.  One at a time mix in yogurt, flax egg, nutella and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.  Add them to the wet and mix until well incorporated.  Add in chocolate chips and hazelnuts if you wish.

Pour the batter into the ban and bake for 25 minutes, or until the top takes on a dull finish.  They should be slightly springy to the touch.

*NOTE: Even though the link are to gluten-free blondies, the recipe above is NOT gluten free or vegan.  It can easily be made both though by using gluten free flour and a vegan spread*

What is your favorite way to eat nutella or gianduia?

2 thoughts on “Nutella/Gianduia Brownies (or faux-blondies)

  1. Amy @ Simply Sugar & Gluten-Free

    Your blondie/brownie combo looks delish! I know what you mean about the difference between Nutella and gianduia. Not the same thing. Still, I think Nutella is pretty darn good. (Haven’t had it in over 8 years but if my memory serves me correctly….)

    Thanks for sharing my site with your readers!
    Hugs,
    Amy

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Thank you!
      Even though these were delicious, I’m totally going to have to try the actual version you posted soon. Nutella is definitely good in it’s own special way, though I’m always shocked at how sweet it is. 🙂

      Emilia

      Reply

Have a comment?

