Why I Got a Kindle (and you should too!) Part 1

I got a kindle.  I tried to hold out, I really did.  You know, support the book stores and all, but  baggage weight limits and living in two different countries makes it a bit difficult.  You see, I love to read. I love bad books, some good books, silly books, serious books, young books, old books; if it’s out there, I can probably find a reason why I would want to read it.  Of course, if I actually read it or not is a completely different story.

But enough with the tangent, okay Emilia?

I got a kindle was because I’m sick of schlepping around heavy books.  Last year at uni we had to carry a grammar textbook and workbook everywhere.  I  also  need to take a crazy amount of books back and forth between England and America (The Prince, Dante, I’m talking to you), leaving very little room in my bags for books I actually wanted to read.  What was I waiting for?  Sign me up!

See, I'm already using my kindle to study!

Alas, it wasn’t quite that easy.  Theoretically getting a kindle should have been simple given the circumstances I described above, however, they aren’t cheap.  I wasn’t about to shell out almost $200 on something that wasn’t 100% perfect.  So, I did what any university student would do.  Research it!

I think my mom sort of wanted me to want an ipad.  In the whole, I-really-want-to-get-one-but-would-buy-one-for-my-daughter-and-not-for-myself kind of way.  I knew right away that I didn’t want one.  Why?  Too big, too expensive, I have an itouch and it had a backlit screen.  Totally not worth it.

So thin and lightweight!

The nook, however, was quite alluring.  I love Barnes and Nobles, I love their array of books, I love that they are still a brick-and-mortar bookseller, I just didn’t love the nook after researching it.  Turns out, that in order to buy books on a nook you have to be in the USA.  Well, there goes that option!

Then we have the kindle.  I didn’t really know why right away, but it turns out there is a reason this thing is so popular.  It is small, lightweight and attractive.  You can buy books wherever there is a wifi hotspot (with the cheapest option) or wherever you want with the slightly more expensive 3G option.  The e-ink screen was also quite alluring as it allows you to read in sunlight and before bed without the stimulatory effects of a backlit screen. Also, it is a dedicated reader, meaning there is nothing besides the text that could get in the way of your reading experience.

What is the reading experience like?  Is it heavy?  Do I need a case?  How are the book selections?  Stay tuned for part two and find out. . .

Do you have an e-reader?  If yes, why did you choose to get one?  If no, why not?

5 thoughts on “Why I Got a Kindle (and you should too!) Part 1

  1. Alison

    I hope you enjoy yours!

    If you’re going to leave it at home and read around the house, you might not need a case. If you’re planning on taking it anywhere, buy a case even if you’re just carrying it in your handbag.

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Yeah, that is definitely what I’ve learnt thus far! I was originally not going to get a case, but once it arrived I started realizing that it was quite necessary. 🙂

      Reply
  2. M. L. Doyle

    Yep, love my Kindle. Just posted a review of five books I purchased on my Kindle that were under $10. The instant gratification of downloading a new book, especially if its the next book in a series, the one you can’t wait to purchase because the first book just sucked you in, has me loving the fast downloads. Not to mention that if you travel, you can’t beat how little space it takes and how little it adds to your luggage weight.

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I love the quick and easy downloads as well! It’s so nice to be able to get the book whenever and not have to plan a bookstore run. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Why I Got a Kindle (and You Should too!) part 2 | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

