Pretty Little Liars: Read it and Love it (seriously!)

photo source

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

I know I probably shouldn’t read these books, or at the very least, I probably shouldn’t enjoy them.  But, whatever.  I love these books.  Possibly even more than the tv show.

Silly for a university student?  Possibly.  Do I care?  Not an ounce.

I wish I could tell you that I spend most of my time reading deep books like Tolstoy or something, but I really don’t.  Studying Italian, I read enough deep stuff.  Stories about Somali immigrans in Italy, violent gialli and Renaissance literature.  Things I may not exactly want to read.  When I get time to read something I want to, I’m going to make it count.

The story might seem a bit (or a lot) unbelievable: a group of random girls (Spencer, Aria, Emily and Hanna) are brought together by the Queen Bee (Ali) at their school whom everyone loves and become friends.  Except, she goes missing during one of their sleepovers and her disappearance remains a mystery until several years later when she is found dead.  At the same time she is found, the girls, who are no longer close, start to receive text messages from someone named A (could it be their “dead” friend Ali or someone else?). They work to find out who killed their friend and who A really is.

Of course, these are teen books written to move money.  Thus, the end never comes and the plot goes on for more books that I can possibly count.  So why do I read them?  Simple, the characters are relatable, the stories are fun and the suspense brings you into another world.

Even though the characters all fit a particular stereotypical image, you can find something relatable in every one.  They all experience problems similar to ones you or I could have in real life.  I myself in Spencer’s desire to be better, Aria’s position as an outsider, Emily’s desire to figure everything in her life out and Hanna’s push to forget her old self.  Within the characters’ simplicity there is a complexity that allows a myriad of readers to relate to them.

Next time you are looking for a fun escapist book that you can breeze through, check out Pretty Little Liars.  It’s fun, easy and completely relaxing.

What are your favorite books to read when you want to relax?  Have you read a PLL book or watched the television series?  What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Pretty Little Liars: Read it and Love it (seriously!)

  1. Pingback: 10 Little Things, 10 Big Smiles « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

