The Best Books to Read to Say Goodbye to Summer

I'm reading all I can before I end up back there at uni!

I love to read.  Do you?  Preferably, I’m reading books that aren’t assigned by my professors (and therefor are in English and not pre-unification Italian), but even in class I’d rather read than watch a film.  Looking at you Romanzo Criminale.

One of my major goals this summer was to read loads of books.   Personally, I don’t believe summer is over until 21 September.  This gives both you and me more time to eek in as many summer books as possible.

Okay, well maybe not loads, but I’m not stopping this crazy book reading rampage that I’m on.  It may be time, however, to start transitioning into school-themed books.

Sad?  Make you think of the dreaded back-to-school day as a kid?

Don’t despair!  If you are anything like me, school themed book are some of your absolute favorites.  The atmosphere, the extremely relateable emotions, the plots; I find them all extremely comforting.

So, what are the best school themed books?  Oh my friends, there are so many to choose from.

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld.  I read this book last summer and it instantly became one of my favorites.  The main character, Lee, is utterly relatable as she navigates a new way of life, new friendships and merging her past with her present.

Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan.  Another one of my favorites from last summer.  The novel tells the story of four girls who become friends during their first year of college when they live on the same corridor.  Their friendship lasts and changes along with their lives.  Not just a college story, the plot also follows the girls as they set up their lives.

Class by Cecily von Ziegesar.  I know, I know.  It has horrible reviews on amazon, but please don’t let that deter you.  Despite reading them, I just knew I had to read it.  It definitely doesn’t follow in the same vein as Gossip Girl, but is good in a completely different way.  The book follows five students as they start their first year of college and undergo complete changes to their lives.

Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard.  A series I love and have raved about over here.  Gripping plot (sometimes a bit too gripping perhaps), fun characters and set in a school.  Really, what’s not to love?

The Secret History by Donna Tartt.  I wrote about this book earlier and it is a perfect intellectually-driven school-set story.  A boy from an intellectual-wasteland goes to a small-liberal arts school in Vermont and discovers an entirely new and strange world.  Completely compelling, suspenseful and compulsively readable.

What was your favorite summer read?

2 thoughts on “The Best Books to Read to Say Goodbye to Summer

  1. Adam

    I just looked through my blog posts since May (mostly book reviews) and to this point my favorite book of the summer was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This book was wonderful, and it’s tough to really describe it without giving away some of the book. All I can say is go read it if you enjoy good books. Another one of the books that is well up there on my list from this past summer is Orson Scott Card’s Speaker for the Dead. It’s the sequel to Ender’s Game (which is also an amazing book) and Speaker for the Dead is brilliant on so many levels that it’s tough to describe as well. I also read through the Harry Potter series this past summer. They were fun books but I have to say I was a little upset with parts of the last book and the very end of the series.

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I’ve heard so much about The Book Thief recently, most definitely going on my must read list (which is practically a mile long). 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

