Baking Challenge: Macarons (yes, you can!)

All the ingredients, minus the vanilla extract.

Well, I did it.  Did what you ask?  I made macarons.

Nope, seriously I did.  They had the pied and all.  To say I was FLOORED with how they turned out is, frankly, an understatement.  I expected to make a bunch of cracked, dull and non-pied having little meringue.  But I didn’t.

Can't you see the pied?

Now, do I have much advice?  Here it is: DON’T FEAR THE MACARON.

Sure, they could be cracked, dull and without pieds, but that doesn’t mean they won’t taste spectacular.  As long as you follow the instructions, use the proper ingredients and accept whatever the outcome is, you’re going to do amazingly.

The meringue drying, I let it sit for a half hour.

I didn’t end up making the filling, mostly because I’m not a fan of buttercream.  Instead, I let everyone fill them themselves with jam, gianduia (caffarel) or white choco dream.

The baking sheet before baking. The circles are a guide for where to place the meringue.

Needless to say, they were a big hit!

I followed the recipe for classic macarons in I Love Macarons.

What is your favorite macaron flavor?  Have you tried Laduree or Pierre Herme?

One thought on “Baking Challenge: Macarons (yes, you can!)

Have a comment?

