A Page From My Bookshelf

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Last week I finally read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.  I don’t know why I decided to read it now (I’ve been saying I’m going to read it forever), but it was well worth the wait.  Compulsively readable like the best with a captivating story line and fascinating character; I enjoyed every last page.

Midnight is the kind of book you want to talk about immediately.  I want you to read it, I want to know what you thought.  Even though the book is classified as true crime, the actual story involves the people of Savannah more than the discussion of crime.  It’s rare in non-fiction that you get to know characters intimately and feel for them, but that is exactly what happens in Midnight.

I’m already excited to read it again, I can’t stop thinking about it and I fully intend to reread Berendt’s other book, City of Falling Angels.  Although I don’t remember liking it quite as much, I’m willing to give it another shot, I’ll let you know how it goes.  Since the characters are the main focus of the books, it’ll be interesting to see the similarities and differences.  Not to mention, Venice is probably my favorite city in the world (okay, okay, London is first).

Read Midnight, let me know what you think.  Your welcome.

What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

6 thoughts on “A Page From My Bookshelf

  1. Cathrine

    I will have to read this book. (Adding it to my long reading list..) I remember liking the movie, maybe because it has my favorite actor in it; Kevin Spacey 🙂

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      If you read it, I hope you really enjoy it! The movie is definitely on my must see movie list, I’m intrigued to know what they changed from the book 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Good Reads Recently « emilialiveslife

  3. Pingback: 300. « emilialiveslife

  4. Pingback: Best Dream Vacation Spots for your Summer Holiday | emilialiveslife

  5. Pingback: A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson | Emilia Lives Life

Have a comment?

