Good Reads Recently

I always spend forever choosing which book to read next, then, fed up with my extreme levels of indeciveness choose a book at the last minute.  At the very best I’ll love it, at the worst, well, I’ll regret that purchase quite quickly.  Lucky for me, I happen to choose good books more times than I do bad ones.  At least, that was the case with the last two books I read.

The City of Falling Angels is about Venice.  That was enough to get me to read it.  In all honesty, I had read it previously and didn’t like it to much; however I decided to revisit the book after falling in love with John Berendt’s other (more famous) book, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.  Although the stories are quite different, both books are excellently written and good in their own right.  Just don’t expect to get the same story or experience from both of them!

A Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg was a book that I have had on my must read list for quite awhile and only just gotten around to reading. I fell in love with the book nearly immediately and now must recommend it to everyone and anyone looking for a well written, gripping and touching read.  Not to mention, it has recipes at the end of each chapter.  What more could you want?

How do you choose what book to read?  What was the best book you’ve read recently?

4 thoughts on “Good Reads Recently

  1. Pingback: Write Like That: I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley « emilialiveslife

  2. Pingback: Blood, Bones and Butter by Gabrielle Hamilton « emilialiveslife

  3. Pingback: Tender at the Bone by Ruth Reichl « emilialiveslife

  4. Pingback: Yes Chef by Marcus Samuelsson | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

