Simple Cake, Perfect Taste

I wasn’t planning on posting about this cake.  But after one bite I knew that I would be.  The cake has a dense, moist crumb and almost resembles a financier or a madeleine in flavour.  Almonds only garnish the cake, there is no almond meal or paste in the actual recipe; however if you wish you may include almond extract (I would have but didn’t have any on hand).  It’s also mind-bogglingly simple to make.  Surely a cake this delicious should take a bit longer to make, or at least an electric mixer.  But it doesn’t.

You also probably have everything you need in your kitchen right now because the ingredients are that basic.  Some sugar, eggs, flour, vanilla and butter.  If you are ever in a pinch and need to bake something straight away, this would be the cake to turn to.

I halved the recipe (I generally do that) and baked mine in a six inch cake tin.  Luckily, the baking time remained the same and all of the ingredients were easy to half.  The recipe is from one of my favourite baking tomes, Baking From my Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

And I used a gold doily because, well why not use a gold doily? 😉

What’s your favourite so simple, yet so impressive recipe?  I will definitely be using this one from now on, but nutella pie is another simple recipe that never fails to impress people!  I need to share the recipe on here some day soon…

Have a comment?

