Reading Recently – A Walk in the Woods

It took me quite a while to finish this book, but it was so worth it.  I loved A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson.  While reading, I felt the urge to strap on my backpack, throw on some walking shoes and go hiking.

Except, I hate hiking.  I complain the whole time and people get really annoyed with me as I descend further into boredom.

Yet, when reading A Walk in the Woods the desire to get out and stomp along some dirt trails overcame me.  That gives you an idea about the quality of the writing.

The story may seem boring on paper.  Indeed two men hiking the Appalachian Trail hardly seems like a gripping read.  Bill Bryson’s hysterical outlook and brilliant story-telling skills makes the book compulsively readable, in the best way possible.  You want to know what happens, you want to know how he manages to not get eaten by a bear.  You want to know about the people he meets and the crazy situations he enters.

Needless to say, if you like Bryson’s other travelogues, like Notes From a Small Island, you’ll enjoy this one too.  It’s a bit different from his other stories, he is in the wilderness instead of traipsing through different cities after all.  Yet he maintains the same unique outlook and sharp wit that keeps you turning the pages.

Next time someone convinces me to go hiking, I’ll read this book beforehand to get me excited.

Or maybe before I finally plan that snow-shoeing trip I’ve been talking about for years.

What was your favorite book you’ve read recently?

5 thoughts on “Reading Recently – A Walk in the Woods

  1. Pingback: Funny Reads: I’m a Stranger Here Myself by Bill Bryson « emilialiveslife

  2. Pingback: Finally Read: Into The Wild by John Krakauer « emilialiveslife

  3. Pingback: 300. « emilialiveslife

  4. Pingback: Expat Elsewhere Fantasies: Tout Sweet by Karen Wheeler « emilialiveslife

  5. Pingback: Made in America: an informal history of the English language in the United States by Bill Bryson | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

