Reflections on Paris

So many people seem to be hopeless enamoured with that city, writing books about it, singing songs and taking photographs.  Simply put, I am not one of those people.

I want to be, for some reason, and in a certain manner I understand what the attraction is.  Yes, the city is beautiful.  Yes, it has many famous historical landmarks and yes, it does have many amazing museums.

I do like the clothes, I do like the pastries and I do like the look of French things.  But still, I am not head over heels in love with Paris.

Why am I writing this now?  Well, my computer background is Paris and I’m wearing stripes.  I’m in one of those moods where I want to like the city, perhaps because I’m surrounded by people who do.  This is England and I am a Modern Languages student, most of the people I see on a daily basis study French.

This is simply one of those cases where we can’t choose what we are drawn to.  I’m positively head over heels in love with both Venice and London.  If I could spend the rest of my life in those two cities, with occassional trips to New York of course, I would be completely content.

I can’t exactly tell you what it is about Venice that makes me love it so; trust me, I feel like a fake Italian single honours student telling you this.  But I so do.

I just read Lunch In Paris, a book I’ve been meaning to pick up for quite a while.  While it was not the idea of living in Paris that drew me to the book initially, the author’s adventures in the city no doubt make up a significant part of the story.  It was the kind of book that made me want to hop on the Eurostar straight away.

I like the Paris of my dreams, I just can’t say the actual city makes my heart go pitter-patter.  I guess that just leaves more London for me.

What is your favorite city you’ve visited?  What is one city you can’t wait to visit?  my favorite city is London, I just love it, I’m not too sure why!  i can’t wait to visit Milan and Barcelona, they’re definitely at the top of my must-visit list right now!

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Paris

  1. Rachel

    I just randomly found your blog through the NaNoWriMo forums and this post is basically all of my feelings! haha. I studied in London last year and thought it was the most amazing, wonderful, beautiful city I’d ever seen. I spent a few days in Paris, however, and was mostly unimpressed. People seem horrified when I say so, so I’m glad to see I’m not the only one. 😀

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      It’s funny, the people who love Paris seem to be such a vocal group, but there’s definitely quite a few of us out there who are less than enamored. That’s so amazing you got to study in London, I would love to live there for a little bit! 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

