Carrot Cupcakes

Carrot Cake reminds me of being a kid. I don’t remember eating carrot cake a lot, or any, as a kid, but the moment I took a bite, slathered in cream cheese frosting, I tasted my childhood at the botanic gardens.

Their carrot cake had a marzipan carrot on top.  Carrot cake is one of the few desserts that conjures up such a specific image in people’s minds. For me, it has nuts on the side, white frosting, two layers and marzipan carrots.

I decided to shake things up a bit and make carrot cupcakes.  Even though I would have loved to have made a tall two layer cake, it wouldn’t have been practical for me.  There would have been no where to keep it, nor any to frost it without ending up with more cream cheese frosting on me than on the cake.

So, I present carrot cupcakes.  Moist and dense, topped with cream cheese frosting, just like the original.  The frosting didn’t come out quite as thick and stable as I would have liked it, even after chilling it for several hours.  I think this happened because I used spreadable butter and because I tried to reduce the sugar in the frosting.  While it tasted fine (still a bit too sweet for my liking), it slid off the cupcakes nearly immediately!

I used this lovely recipe from Green Cilantro.  If you need to make carrot cake, I definitely recommend it.  I did, however, omit the raisins and walnuts because I didn’t have any on hand and I didn’t want to spend the money on them.  As well, I didn’t have any vegetable oil, so I used olive oil instead.  You could barely taste it, but I think it added a certain depth of flavor that was nice.

Do you like carrot cake?  Do you have any food that reminds you of being a kid?

Have a comment?

