Happy Birthday Dad! (Simple Gingerbread Cake)

Sometimes I’m not able to bake my family seriously awesome cakes on their birthdays’.  Sometimes, I need to bake them a cake and send them a metaphoric piece.  Today, that’s what I’m doing.

You see, it’s my Dad’s birthday. He has one of those birthdays that falls periouslously close to Christmas.  Though he swears that when he was a kid it felt like his birthday was ages away from Christmas, my mother and I have never been able to understand this.  We must consolidate all his gifts throughout the year into a three week window.

Yeah, it’s tough 😉

I sunk many hours into finding the perfect cake for my Dad.  Then, I stumbled upon this gingerbread cake and knew it would be perfect.  Simple and perfect for that transition into rich Christmas flavors.  I was expecting to love this cake, but I didn’t realize it would become my favorite gingerbread.

This cake is a study in contrasts.  It’s rich, yet not overpowering.  The texture plays with your mouth, one bite seems dense and moist, the next is light and airy.  Not to mention, the spices are spot on.  They warm you up, but don’t attack your tastebuds.  Together, the cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and pepper create a gorgeous harmony, perfect for Decemeber.

So, happy birthday Dad!

Simple Gingerbread Cake  adapted from this recipe on lemonpi

(makes one eight inch round cake and three cupcakes, or one nine inch cake)

2 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp instant espresso powder

1 tsp ginger

56 g butter, melted and cooled (about four tablespoons)

1 cup full-fat yogurt

3/4 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup molasses

1 egg, room temperature.

Preheat your oven to 175 C/ 350 F.   Grease a your cake pan.

First, stir together all the dry ingredients, except for the dark brown sugar.  Set aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the butter, yogurt, brown sugar, oil, molasses and egg.  Add in the dry ingredients and fold them in.  The mixture might look a little lumpy, that’s okay.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes out clean.  If you have a fan assisted oven (I do), 30 minutes should be sufficient baking time.

What’s your dream birthday cake?

Have a comment?

