Bath Christmas Market

I hope I’ve made it clear thus far that I love me a bit of Christmas.  It’s may favorite time of the year and I try to get the most out of it every year!  Last year, when I first got to England, a friend told me about the Bath Christmas Market.  My friends and I intended to go, but never made it.  Ahh, first year 😉

This year, however, I was determined to make it to Bath to see the Christmas Market.   A couple of friends and I set off last Sunday on the daunting ten minute train journey from Bristol to Bath to witness this fabled tradition.  We were greeted with lovely not-too-cold-but-cold-enough weather and a wonderfully Christmas-y atmosphere.  I was in heaven.

Admittedly, we didn’t spend much time walking through the market.  If you’ve seen one Christmas Market, well, you’ve pretty much seen them all.  Still, it was fun to walk amongst the stalls, look at the decorations and see the same things on sale in England as I would in New York.

Our day wasn’t without excitement, though (I did have a huge grin on the entire day, Bath is so cute!  So English!).  I tried some mulled wine!  I got a croissant for breakfast!  I had a scone!  There was a new cafe!  I could have spent the entire day walking around Bath and I intended to go back soon to do so.

A Christmas Market and talking with friends for hours?  A perfect way to spend a Sunday in the holiday season.  Though, I must admit, I’m even more excited to spend Christmas in New York now!

What is your favorite holiday tradition?  Do you have a Christmas Market near where you live?

Have a comment?

