Homemade Hot Chocolate

Growing up, I never had hot chocolate made from a powder mix, no matter how much I wanted it.  It was forbidden and alluring, the magic that was relegated to grocery shelves.  Like chocolate cereal.

Instead, I drank honest-t0-goodness hot chocolate, coco powder and sugar mixed with warm milk.  Nowadays I enjoy  drinking a variety of different types, including the powdered stuff as a guilty pleasure; however traditional hot chocolate will always reign supreme.

My Dad was designated hot chocolate maker in our house.  He could always manage to make it chocolatier and richer than my mother, who had good attempts, but never quite lived up to my father’s (sorry mom).  Recently, in my frenzy to do everything Christmas-y, I decided to make myself some hot chocolate.  I was a bit intimidated, but had a wonderful recipe from (never home)maker (one of my favorite blogs).  When I finally took a sip, I realized that this was the hot chocolate of my childhood, only in a microwave instead of over the stovetop.

As I drank my hot chocolate, I could taste home.  The soft milky flavor reminded me of being a kid, decorating the tree while watching Arthur’s Perfect Christmas and wrapping gifts.  Those mystical evenings when the approaching darkness meant Santa was coming.  When I make my own hot chocolate, I am once again sitting in the back seat of my family’s car, looking at the sky trying to spot Santa’s sleigh on Christmas Eve driving home from visiting family.

Basically, it’s a cup-full of memories for me.

I doubt I’ll ever be able to drink powdered mix again, scratch that, I know I’ll never be able to drink it again.  It’s incredibly easy and satisfying to make your own hot chocolate.  Not to mention, you get to avoid all the scary sugars and preservatives that Cadbury and Swiss Miss load into those packets.

So, what are you waiting for?  Go and make yourself some now, it’s so easy!

What’s your favorite drink to have around the holidays?

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hot Chocolate

  1. Tina @ Best Body Fitness

    I’m a HUGE fan of hot chocolate and now always do the cocoa powder, sugar, and almond milk version at home too. It works perfectly! And so much nicer to know it doesn’t have all the extra “stuff” in it.

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I know! It’s so much easier to enjoy hot chocolate when you can pretend it’s at least sort of good for you (no chemicals is something, right?) 😉

      Reply
  2. Pingback: A Festive Bucket List « emilialiveslife

  3. Pingback: Italian Hot Chocolate at Vizio Virtù in Venice « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

