Holiday Baked Oatmeal

A few weeks ago a friend gave me a jar of Ovaltine.  After trying it and deciding they didn’t like it, they offered it to me.  I’m not too sure why.  I did, however, jump at the chance to take it.  Immediately, images of A Christmas Story filled my head and I became infatuated with the idea of creating a recipe that paid tribute to the brilliant movie.

So, I began to rack my mind.  What kind of dessert would make a good tribute to the movie?  I wasn’t about to make meatloaf or red cabbage, so my mind turned to a dessert.  While contemplating cookies and cupcakes, it hit me.

Baked oatmeal.

A modern update on an old classic.  The ovaltine would give the oatmeal a lovely rich malted chocolate flavor making a little cake that hits a nice balance between sweet and savory.  Of course, not content to simply add one extra ingredients, I threw in some raisins.

While I enjoyed that addition, I think some dried cranberries would make an even more delightful and festive accent to the baked oatmeal.  They add just enough of a sweet bite to create a comforting, yet layered, flavor.

I could have called this A Christmas Story baked oatmeal, but I didn’t want to brand it.  This is a great recipe for any time of day, any holiday movie or any occasion.  Breakfast, lunch and, heck, if you want to eat it for dinner, I won’t tell anyone.  It’s warming, filling and, most importantly, delicious.

Holiday Baked Oatmeal

makes one oatmeal cake

1/4 cup oats

2T milk

2T greek yogurt (I used fage total)

pinch of cinnamon

2T ovaltine

handful of raisins

Preheat oven to 380

Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Pop into a cupcake holder, ramekin or other oven-safe dish.

Bake for twenty minutes.  If you want a crust you can either bake for a bit longer or broil, but I usually find twenty minutes is good enough.

Have you ever tried baked oatmeal?  Did you like it?


Have a comment?

