London is in my Heart

I’ve discussed my less than warm and cuddly feelings towards Paris before, but I haven’t quite regaled everyone with the overwhelming love I have for London.  Simply put, I think it’s one of the most beautiful and inspiring cities in the world. Or at least that I’ve ever visited.

Though I’ve spent a good amount of plane rides analyzing this (there are only so many movies I can handle watching in the space of eight hours), I’m still not one-hundred percent sure why this is the case.  Over the years, I’ve come up with different theories, but none of them quite explain the ineffable feeling I have whilst walking through this amazing city.

The first time I went to London I was fourteen and a freshman in high school. Though I wish I could be romantic and say it was love at first sight, I landed at eight pm in February, so it was a little anti-climactic.  For some reason, after my first trip to Europe the summer before high school, I knew that I needed to visit England.

While I would love to say that my adoration of London has to do with the city’s rich history, gorgeous architecture or fantastic culture, it wouldn’t be the truth. Sure, all of those things are amazing there and I’d highly recommend just spending some days walking around if you go there, I love London for much more personal reasons.

The city makes me feel more like Emilia, if that’s possible.

Do you have a city that makes you feel at home?  Which one?

3 thoughts on “London is in my Heart

  1. S

    Beautiful! Glad to see some positive comments about London, often people complain about the prices and the weather, without mentioning the wonderful energy and abundance of good things to do here. I myself am excited to move to Rome next year, to see how it contrasts with London.

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Thank you! I, too, am always shocked when people complain about the prices and the weather in London while seemingly ignoring all the fantastic energy the city has to offer (though I might be guilty in indulging in a bit weather-complaining)!

      Good luck moving to Rome! Can’t wait to hear about what you think of it compared to London 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

