I’m All Brainy – Georgiana, Duchess of Devonshire by Amanda Foreman

I’ve been interested in reading this book ever since I saw the movie The Duchess (which, let’s be honest, was made by Dominic Cooper’s presence. yeah, I said it.); however I’m not exactly in the habit of buying biographies that I may never read.  Historical novels can be quite the drag to get through sometimes.  Enter paper back swap, an online community where you post books and receive them, all for the cost of postage.   I requested this book and a few weeks later it was sitting in my mailbox, all wrapped up in the white media mail packaging.

Now, I was expecting to like this book at parts and feel brainy reading it pretty much all the time.  While both of those things happened, one unexpected aspect also threw itself into the mix.  I really enjoyed this book all the time.

Yep, there’s a biography I enjoy!  Rejoice, my mind is not completely lost to reading the blogs and watching Come Dine With Me!  This book is so well written, it’s difficult not to enjoy it.

The biography not only describes her life, but puts Georgiana in context of the time period she lived in.  Specifically Foreman discusses her in context of the revolutions and Whig politics, two spheres in which she held a unique position.  If this sounds a bit dry still, there are more than enough first-person sources to make the book read more like a novel than a work of non-fiction.

One of my favorite things about this book was how Foreman managed to illustrate her beliefs on Georgiana so clearly while still keeping a chronological story going.  Sometimes, when reading non-fiction, I feel as if I’m bombarded by the author’s personal outlook.  The book can read more like a personal argument rather than a factual retelling of a given topic.  Georgiana was a lovely blend between new outlooks on the subject and a history.

Do yourself a favor and give this book a chance.  Then see the movie (because Dominic Cooper is in it…)

Do you enjoy reading historical biographies?  Or do you prefer modern ones?

Have a comment?

