Croissants, from the freezer to the table

I don’t know what came over me.  I was standing in front of the freezer section at Fairway, picking up some frozen cherries to use in my morning oatmeal (and later in some truly excellent chocolate cherry almond butter), and I saw them.  Frozen croissants.

For a moment, I debated, the freezer door precariously open spilling cold air out into the aisle.  Then, I grabbed them and threw them in my cart.  ‘They’ll make a great experiment,’ I told myself, ‘I can blog about them!’  And I continued on shopping for more sensible things, like yogurt and licorice (I really do love licorice).

Then, a couple weeks later, I was making my morning oatmeal and saw the bag sitting in the freezer.  I really do need to use them at some point, I thought to myself.  So, a couple of sundays ago, I did just that.  I took the croissants out of their plastic bag, placed them on a parchment lined baking sheets and popped them in the oven to bake at 365 degrees Fahrenheit to bake for eighteen minutes.

Well, let’s say I was skeptical to say the least.  I count the (good) croissant among my very favoritist of favorite foods.  Would these really be able to satisfy the butter and flour snob in me?

The answer?  No exactly.  They were entirely more edible than I thought they would be, but they couldn’t compare even to an English croissant.  It could be because I ate mine hot from the oven.  Croissants need time to cool off in order for all the layers to settle.  This is laminated dough that has been saturated with butter after all.

On the topic of laminated dough and the high quality European butter that we want to be the main focus of the croissant’s taste, well, it wasn’t exactly there.  I could taste the beginning of buttery heaven, but found them entirely more palatable with some lovely St.Dalfour strawberry jam (my favorite jam, you really must try it).

So, the verdict?  Get some, have a silly croissant party.  Just don’t expect them to stand in for the real thing.

Have you ever tried frozen croissants or similar pastry?  Would you?

One thought on “Croissants, from the freezer to the table

  1. Pingback: Croissants – The Real Deal? « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

