Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones

Scones are some of the quickest and easiest baked goods to make.  Even if you have only half an hour, you can easily have a lovely warm batch of scones, with twenty minutes to sit and ponder the universe while they bake.  Or if you are about to hop on a plane to England and want to add a bit of pizzaz to what has already come out of the oven that day (namely; a brioche, a buckwheat bake and some sunbutter/pumpkin cookies), you still have enough time to make some scones.

People talk about getting the ‘baking itch’.  I don’t understand this terminology.  More or less without fail, I’m always in the mood to bake.  The exceptions go as such:  when I’m sick, when I’ve made a billion christmas cookies, or when I’m…wait, I can’t think of any other time when I don’t want to bake.

Thus, it shouldn’t come as much of a surprise that I decided to bake these oatmeal nutmeg scones a couple of hours before I was scheduled to arrive at the airport.  My mother loves scones, she says they are one of her favorite baked goods (in fact, she is the one who inspired me to start my epic scone baking challenge).  I thought that a nice going away present might be a good batch of scones.  Particularly Dorie Greenspan scones.  Who can say no to something from Baking by Dorie Greenspan?  I sure can’t.

I had this recipe bookmarked.  Oatmeal Nutmeg Scones.  Sounds good, doesn’t it?  Perfect for a cold grey day when all you want to do is curl up with a good book in front of a fire (or under a blanket, or in bed).  They are astoundingly simple to make and taste even better than the sum of their parts.  I found it quite difficult to cut in the butter, so I didn’t work it as much in as I normally do.  What a happy accident is all I can say!  The larger pieces of butter melted out to the sides of the scone, leaving them with a crispy, crackly edge.  All the effect of brushing on some cream or sprinkling on some butter, but without the hassle.

So, next time you have the baking itch, but little time, try these scones.  They’re easy, delicious and comforting, perfect for travel!

Do you routinely get the baking itch?  What’s your favorite quick thing to bake?

Have a comment?

