Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’ve been a little obsessed with chocolate chips recently.  Every recipe that I see calling for a lovely little cup-full reminds me of being a kid.  Chocolate chip cookies?  Of course.  Chocolate chip pancakes?  Yes please!  Chocolate chip muffins?  Yum.

When I saw this recipe on My Baking Addiction the first thing that popped into my mind was the Entemanns mini-muffins.  I remembered them with the great fondness that can only come when you didn’t eat them all the time as a kid.  Though I am quite sure that I did eat them with decent frequency.  They were soft, chocolate-chipy and just a bit greasy.  But in a moist-okay way…after all, what do you expect with something that comes from a plastic bag?

Of course, English kids have a bit different nostalgic foods.  They have Turkey Dinosaurs, bread-and-butter pudding and hula-hoops.  Not exactly my blueberry poptarts, chocolate chips and butterscotch brownies.  What does this mean?  It’s nearly impossible to find chocolate chips in the grocery store.  That is, unless you want the world’s smallest bag for a whopping 80p.  Thanks, but I’ll chop my own.

So I guess that means that these aren’t exactly chocolate chip muffins.  But they still taste like those mini-muffins of my youth.  Moist, buttery and dense, no one could call these cupcakes.  They are muffins in the truest form.  I can only imagine how spectacular they would be in mini form. Might have to try that soon.

The recipe I used was from My Baking Addiction and, true to form, I halved it.  While I would definitely make a full batch next time, the results were fantastic.  I also used an indeterminate amount of butter and chopped a 100 gram bar of chocolate to put inside.  If you are making these in America, however, I would recommend using either ghiradelli chocolate chips (the chips of my youth!) or Hershey’s.  Because all American kids have a soft-spot for Hersheys, don’t we?

Now I don’t need to buy those little Entemanns muffins anymore

What is your most-nostalgic childhood food?  Do you remember those Entemanns muffins?

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Faith

    Mine was probably entemman’s powdered sugar donuts. I ate those all time time at my dad’s law office (had to sneak them because they werent allowed in my house!)

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Those are definitely a classic! I always remember kids bringing the donut variety packs to school. My favorite were the powdered sugar with cinnamon (or was it brown sugar?), so nostalgic! 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

