Thin Mint Soil

Girl Scout cookies are integral part of American culture.  You probably feel nostalgic just hearing the word “thin mint” whether or not you grew up eating Girl Scout cookies.  That’s me.  I know I’ve eaten proper Girl Scout thin mints at some point in my nineteen years, but I’m not too sure where or when.  At a friends house?  A mysterious gifted box?  School?  Half-time snack at a soccer game?  It’s a mystery.

Even though I may not connect thin mints to anything particular in my childhood, I still wanted to create my very own version of the ubiquitous cookie.  A thin mint chocolate wafer dunked in chocolate is surely what dreams are made of, right?

I’ll get back to you on that because when I last ventured into the relams of thin mint-dom, I was sent away with only cookie crumbs.  A thin mint soil I’ll call it.  Let’s pretend it was intentional, shall we?

Ever since reading the Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook by Christina Tosi, I’ve been obsessed about the idea of a crumb or soil; specifically its ability to enhance the flavor and texture of cookies.  A vehicle of taste that permeates the entire mouth, not standing out harshly, but blending in.  So, that’s what I decided to do when I realized that my cookies were not going to be coming together.  I bagged the wafer idea and went with a soil.

There are a million ways you could use this.  As a crumb topping on a grasshopper pie.  A crunchy addition to brownies (even better if they are minty brownies).  Or maybe even as the base to a thin mint truffle.  The possibilities are endless and I’m willing to try them all.

So far, I’ve tried quasi-truffles and as a crunchy dip for chocolate covered cookies.  Both worked brilliantly.  My quasi truffles were simply the soil combined with melted chocolate and frozen for a bit to allow them to firm up.  Decadent, but with a playful edge and perfect for parties.  As an outer coating for cookies they worked surprisingly well, acting a textural difference against a soft buttery cookie, but melting quickly on the tongue to avoid an unpleasant division between flavors.

You can’t mess up thin mints.

What do you do when a recipe seems as if it’s not working?   Have you ever used a crumb or soil in your baking?

One thought on “Thin Mint Soil

  1. Pingback: The Culture of Cookies (or an ode to my favorite treat) | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

