Speechless Cookies

There are certain flavors, smells and sounds that will forever remind me of the safety of childhood.  The smell of ozone right before a rainstorm reminds me of how exciting I thought rain was, how I would try to create the same tap-tap-tap on the roof of my Barbie’s house.  The sound of Sabrina the Teenage Witch reminds of watching the show after school, that is once I was finally allowed to watch shows that weren’t aired exclusively on PBS.

And the taste of cookies reminds me of childhood.

Yes, cookies in general.  I had deeply-involved relationships with a variety of different ones.  Thosedevil’s food snackwell cookies stand out as being chewy, soft and sweet.  Then there are mallomars and the myriad of ways in which you could eat them.  There are also homemade butter-scotch bars, Stella D’Oro fudge cookies, giant sprinkle sugar cookies and chocolate dipped cookies from the local bakery.

I could go on and on.

These cookies are based off of the Keebler Fudge Stripe cookies.  I’m sure I ate these at some point in my childhood cookie eating career, but I can’t exactly remember.  That’s not the point of these, however.  Even if you’ve never eaten the fudge stripe cookie, the taste will be familiar.  They taste like your childhood.

And perhaps that’s why I feel so passionate about these.  Indeed, I was of half the mind to begin this post by saying that these are my favorite cookie ever.  They’re soft and sort of crumbly, but stay intact.  They’re buttery in a non-destinct way.  In fact, I made them without any butter (maybe I should revise my butter-snob attitude).  Above all, they make you feel like a kid.  There’s the same excitement in eating these little cookies as there was in figuring out how many different ways you could eat a mallomar.  Or a moonpie.

Yes, these aren’t striped.  In a foolish moment when my 5 in AP Calculus failed me, I incorrectly divided the fractions when halving the recipe.  I realized at the very end of the recipe, after the alotted chilling time.  Instead of just whacking the under-floured dough in the oven, I slowly stirred in a tablespoon of flour at a time.  Ultimately, I made them with varying levels of flour.

While the ones with more flour undoubtably resemble the original cookie in texture, I enjoy the precariously soft nature of the moderately underfloured ones.  Try experimenting in your own kitchen.

I also made some more substitutions, which I originally believed to be the culprits for my soggy dough.  I used whole wheat flour (no ill-effects here) and golden syrup instead of corn syrup.  Can you even get corn syrup in England?  I’m not too sure, but these were so unbelievably splendid with golden syrup I’m not too fussed about it.

I also used vegetable oil, making the ones not-dipped in chocolate a completely vegan cookie.  Pretty neat, though I am definitely making them with butter.  Soon.

The recipe I followed originally came from Annie’s Eats, one of my favorite food blogs.  There is also a version from BraveTart.  As far as I can tell they are identical.

I cannot wait to experiment with these, making more versions and generally indulging in a childhood vision of cookie heaven.

Though I must say, this adult thinks that these cookies are pretty heavenly.  Maybe my tastes aren’t as sophisticated as I would like to believe.

What reminds you most of being a kid?  Have you ever eaten a fudge stripe cookie?

One thought on “Speechless Cookies

  1. Pingback: The Culture of Cookies (or an ode to my favorite treat) | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

