A Coffee’s Cookie-err Biscuit

I bought too much butter.

That’s not something I usually do.  I rarely buy more groceries than I need and am highly skeptical about buying anything that’s on offer.  In fact, you probably wouldn’t want to go grocery shopping with me.  I take my time and methodically over-think each and every purchase.  Gotta get the best deal, after all.

Well, except for that time that I saw the wasabi lindt chocolate at Waitrose.  That I just threw in the basket.  I’m sure you would do the same.

And, yes, I realize that admitting to ever shopping at Waitrose cancels out my previous claim to frugality.  But they are the only store in which I can find 2% greek yogurt—not to mention the entire collection of lindt chocolate bars—so let’s call it even.

Cool.

Anyway, one day I took a momentary detour from frugality and splurged, getting the two blocks of Lurpak on offer for £3 instead of the single block of Sainsbury’s butter for £1.30.  I haughtily thought that I would have no problem using up two packs of butter in less than a month.

I was wrong.  Last Tuesday, I found myself with an entire block of butter and a flight back to the US for a month on Friday.  I knew that I would have to use it up before I left, but how was the big question hanging over my head.

Now, I know the answer would seem simple to many people: bake.  On the surface, I knew baking was the proper response, but the question that floated about in my brain was what.

What do I want to make?

The answer, it turned out, was an experiment.  Recently, I have been getting better at going into the kitchen with only a faint idea of a plan and making something that is actually edible.  Sure, there are varying degrees of edibil-ity.  I’ll take it that my housemates quite liked my almond-y chocolate-y shortbread, as there was hardly left for me.  Unfortunately, those didn’t use up nearly as much butter as I had expected them to.

So I decided to adapt play around with the recipe for speechless cookies.  I also had some left-over ground up coffee that I decided to throw in.  There wasn’t much more of an idea than that.

These cookies may not satisfy your raging sweet-tooth, but they are a lovely little addition to your morning coffee or afternoon tea.  Unlike the originals, they aren’t super soft but have a delightful crunch.  They are like a grown up-digestive biscuit.  That goes with coffee, not tea.

Coffee Biscuits

makes about 20 small cookies

100 grams of butter, melted

2 Tablespoons of ground coffee (make sure you like the taste of this, it will dominate the biscuit)

1/2 cup flour

1 Tablespoon Golden Syrup

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon almond extract.

Preheat oven to 350/180 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Melt the butter over the stove and pour in the coffee grounds.  Set aside for about ten minutes.  Then drain through a fine mesh strainer to sieve out the grounds.  You may have to go through this process a couple of times, that’s cool.  Don’t worry if you can’t get all the grounds out of the butter.

Whisk the flour and baking soda together in a bowl.  Add golden syrup, vanilla extract, almond extract and butter.  Whisk until combined.

Taking a teaspoon, scoop the dough onto the sheet.  If you want crispy ones, press them down with a fork like you would peanut butter cookies.  For slightly chewier ones, leave them rounded.

Bake for about 5 minutes or until golden brown, deeply so at the edges.  Let cool and enjoy!

What’s your favorite type of biscuit?

ps Happy 200th post to me-errr to my blog! 🙂  Thanks for reading!

Have a comment?

