On The Plane: MWF Seeking BFF

Dividing one’s times between two different countries can pose several logistical issues when making and keeping friends.  There are those people who will only talk to you about your home country (please note: i am from new york more so than america.  i have more experience shopping at sainsbury than whatever the american equivalent may be).  There are also people who have indecipherable accents—though that can happen in America too, no doubt—and a few people who are potential friends.

Once you find that noteworthy soul, the threat of being apart for months at a time puts a crimp in the process of becoming BFFs (i nearly typed biffles, be glad i have some self-restraint).  Right now, I have an invite to a friend’s 21st birthday in London.  On July 7th.  I’ll be home.  Darn it.

So maybe you can understand where I’m coming from when I read this book.  I want a BFF!  Though I want to be able to communicate in manner outside of skype/facebook/letter writing for significant parts of the year.  It’s a difficult situation to say the least.

Despite my (highly?) unique predicament, I read MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche with rapt enjoyment.  In fact, I feel totally inspired to begin my own friendship search.  Except, maybe not right now.  I’m on spring break; how could I keep friends in New York.  I could start when I return to Bristol for summer term… but then I’ll be preparing for my year abroad, sigh.  Perhaps my theoretical friendship search would (will?) need branches in New York, England and Italy.

Bertsche’s attitude towards making friends is so infectious that I have a feeling you’ll be interested in starting your own search as well. Even if you are already surrounded by a billion best buds.

I read this book in four days.  Fifty percent on the first day (confession: i was on a train, then commuter rail, then a plane where the entertainment system went down around iceland).  Usually, my attention span fades precariously after thirty minutes of reading.  That didn’t happen with this book.  This book read more like a story that your best friend was eagerly recounting than a true non-fiction book.  I happily gobbled it up feeling like I was reading so-called chick lit.

Bertsche is at a loss with her friendship circles in her newly-adopted city of Chicago.  To remedy her situation, she decides to dedicate a year to making friends and goes on 52 ‘friend-dates’ with the goal of laying down roots of friendship and maybe even finding a BFF.  She tries everything to meet people and finds potential friends in an astonishing variety of places.  Throughout the anecdotes, Bertsche sprinkles scientific facts that remind the read just how important friends are.  The circumstances she gets herself into are sometimes heartwarming, sometimes hysterical but always relatable.  Reading this book feels like talking with a good friend, appropriately enough.

The book is well researched and well written.  I loved Bertsche’s outlook on friendship and her overall enthusiastic point of view is infectious.  Even if you have a wide circle of friends, this book is a worthy read.  It’s fun, factual and fantastic…

I should probably stop with the aliteration now.

If you need some more reasons why you should read this book now, check out her blog, which serves as an extension of the book.  It’s a great read as well!

Do you like making new friends?  Where was the strangest place you ever met a potential new friend?

Have a comment?

