The Cookies that Almost Weren’t

On Tuesday evening, I accidently dropped an egg on the kitchen floor.  Ooops.  Come Wednesday, however, I completely forgot and opened up the refrigerator door dismayed at finding no eggs.  When I looked into the pantry to try and find some flour, I saw that we had a precairiously dwindled stash.  Sure, there was some whole wheat flour and bread flour, but the all purpose variety was at an all time low.

Not to mention, the walnuts the recipe called for?  Non ne avevo niente. i didn’t have any.

But, the show must go one.  The show in question was the first recipe from my brand new Miette cookbook.  Or rather, the Miette cookbook that was new to me.

I’d been enamored with this lovely little book ever since it first came out last summer.  The scalloped edges, the pretty cakes and delicate colors are positively enchanting; however once I heard that there were some issues with the measurements, I was hesitant about buying it.  So I didn’t.  Every times I would look through the cookbooks at  Barnes and Nobles I would flip through the book, gazing at the gorgeous photos, but never really had the motivation to buy it.  I have too many cookbooks, I thought.  Will I really make any of this?

Then on Sunday a couple weeks back, my Dad and I were out getting some cortados at La Colombe and falafel at Taim when we decided to stop by the Strand.  Since my personal reading taste resides closer on the pop-culture end of the spectrum, I decided to browse through the cookbooks and see if there were any heavily discounted tomes that I could adopt.

That’s when I saw Miette.

It was cheaper than on amazon, it was more than half price.  The only catch?  First edition.   That would mean that the measurements might be slightly off.  But I went for it anyway.  As soon as I got home, I flipped through the pages in a starry-eyed haze, putting post-its on each dainty cake I wanted to make.

But I didn’t get around to making anything from the cookbook until last week.  See, most of the recipes, not to mention the most impressive ones, are cakes.  While I like cake as much as the next girl, I’m not really going to bake a cake in the middle of the week.  For one thing, I get bored of eating cake really quickly.  Then there is the whole what-do-I-do-with-an-entire-cake-lying-around thing.  Tough.

Cookies, however, I don’t mind having those lying around.  I can eat the same type of cookie for days on end without getting bored.  Especially the blueberries-and-cream cookies from Momofuku.

Chocolate chip cookies are definitely some of my all time favorites.  Although my personal preference is for a chewy cookie, the description of these as small, crispy and buttery intrigued me.  Ultimately, mine didn’t turn out quite as small as the recipe calls for, but were a pleasing size nevertheless.

I made a couple changes, all of which were quite successful.  I halved the recipe, obviously.  I also used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose flour.  Instead of using ground walnuts, I used ground hazelnuts, which imparted a lovely gianduia-esque flavor.

These are great chocolate chip cookies, hearty and full of flavor.  They’d be equally welcome in a kid’s lunch box or at a fancier event.  That is, if you take your time to shape them properly, which I obviously forgot to do.

What do you do when you run out of an integral-ingredient when cooking or baking?

6 thoughts on “The Cookies that Almost Weren’t

  1. Kathryn

    I have that book too and it is so pretty but I’ve never baked anything from it, I think I just find it a little intimidating! These cookies look really rather lovely though 🙂

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      It definitely is an intimidating cookbook! All the cakes look so picture perfect. Not to mention, the tone seems quite serious at points. These cookies were nice and easy though! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Brittany

    I love trying to find alternatives for baking so that I can use whatever I have on hand. I’m glad you were able to make your cookies!

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Thank you!
      I agree, alternatives for baking do rock. My favorite “substitution” has got to be add apple cider vinegar to milk to create buttermilk. Seriously, who ever has buttermilk on hand? 😉

      Reply
  3. Charissa (@ColourfulPalate)

    Haha, this happens to me all the time. I’ll make something and then, I’m like…”Oh, I’m all out of this…” Then I make do…some of these times are my most creative recipes! 🙂

    Those cookies looks so good!

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Thank you! Working within limited ingredients definitely forces you to be creative. I’d say that those times are also some of the most fun baking experiences you can have. 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

