Baking, Ice Cream-ing and Yoga-ing

I’m having a lot of fun writing these posts about my little goals before twenty.  Though I have the list on some awesome Hello Kitty paper in my filofax, posting about my experiences makes me feel responsible to actually accomplish what I’ve set out to do.  I want to share five new experiences, big and small, with you each week.  It gives me a reason to stop pushing things back and start doing.

Anyway, this week was full of interesting and sometimes tedious little goals; however, I must say that this group has done the most to make me feel like twenty is indeed happening soon.

Open an American bank account I know, I know.  The fact that I opened a bank account in England before America is probably shocking.  But it’s done, and now I feel a much more like an adult.

Make a Baguette This one seemed out to torment me with the strict timeline that baguette making follows.  Ultimately, I powered through, went at my own pace, and was rewarded with three very lovely baguettes.  They may not have been quite as bubbly as the kinds you’ll find in bakeries, but they were delicious nonetheless.

Go to a yoga class  I’ve been “practicing” yoga for about a year now so I felt it was time I went to a yoga class!  Though my heart was beating in a nervous frenzy and I was freaked out about being the only one there who couldn’t do anything, I finally went and had a blast.  I can’t wait to go back!  I went to Strala Yoga in NoHo and loved it.  Everyone there was super nice and, during class, I never felt like I had to do exactly what everyone else was doing.  I took the 5:30 Relax class with Tara.  Amazing.  Go.  Now.

edited: and i’ve already gone back.  9:30 am Strong, again with Tara.  still amazing.  i did a hand stand.  and crow pose.  insanely proud of myself.

Buy a wok I’m really bad at deciding which product to choose online.  I vastly prefer going to the store and choosing between the two things offered there.  Unfortunately, this didn’t happen with my wok.  I went to amazon, purveyour of all things discounted, and chose this cuisinart wok.  Yes, it’s not the most authentic one I could have chosen, but that’s okay.  It has a cover and is gorgeous.  I’m really excited.

Eat Ice Cream I know, I know, is this even a goal?  Yes, frankly it is.  I like ice cream, rarely eat it and it reminds me of childhood.  Finally, we had a nice day this April, nice enough to eat ice cream, and my mother and I went to Sundaes and Cones in the East Village.  Oh my gosh, it was so good!  I got cookies n cream and highly recommend it.  The ice cream was rich, creamy and tasted like childhood.

What’s one thing (or two, or three) big or small that you’ve accomplished recently?

5 thoughts on “Baking, Ice Cream-ing and Yoga-ing

    1. Emilia Post author

      Thanks 🙂 I’ve never had homemade ice cream, though I can imagine that it’s fantastic! Definitely need to find a reason to buy an ice cream maker…

      Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I’ve only actually gone a couple times (cannot wait to go back when I return to nyc in the summer), but that would be pretty cool if we’d already seen each other without knowing it!

      Reply

Have a comment?

