Today I Choose Happy

Once again I’m here sitting in essay drowning insanity.  After this batch, I’ll be done for a year.  Oh year abroad how I am looking forward to you!  I hope Italy will be nice and sunny.  And warm, preferrably warmer than Bristol.  I know it’s supposed to be Spring right now, but it feels like March.  Only rainier.

Here are the things that are getting me through this spot right now:

1.  Balsamic Strawberries.  I keep meaning to roast them, I really do, but when I want them I don’t feel like waiting.  Just chop up some fresh strawberries, drizzle them with balsamic vinegar and put a bit of greek yogurt on the side.  Perfection in a bowl.

2.  The 10k.  It’s this weekend.  I’m trying to not freak out about it.  I’m trying to be excited.  That’s why it’s number two.  I choose to be happy and excited for this race.

3.  Planning my next London trip.  Okay, so I haven’t really started on this one yet, but every time I remind myself that I’m going to London in June to attend a Gabrielle Bernstein lecture, I get really excited.  More good coffee!

4.  Yoga.  I’ve been rolling out my yoga mat pretty much daily to practice and unwind from my hectic day.  It’s Relaxing and a decent workout for a tight schedule.

5.  Summer planning.  You better believe that I am dreaming about what I’ll be doing when the summer comes.  Counting down the days and bookmarking places I want to go help make it feel all a bit more real.

6.  Podcast walks.  The sun stays out really late here, so I’ve gotten in the habit of taking a walk after dinner whilst listening to a podcast.  Most recently they’ve been Gabrielle Bernstein lectures, though sometimes I like to change it up and listen to Spilled Milk.  Fun and a great way to mentally prepare myself for an evening of work.

7.  Long days.  Is there any explanation necessary?  The sun stays out until about nine and I don’t have to turn a lamp on until about eight thirty.  I’m in love.

8.  Fifteen minutes.  Lately, I’ve been setting a timer (I recommend the Big Ben Tea Timer from the App Store) for fifteen minutes to help me get work done.  After each segment I either take a little break or continue for another fifteen minutes.  It’s crazy how much more productive I’ve become.

9.  If you google ‘best croissant bristol’ my articles/blog posts come up twice.  This makes me insanely happy and smiley.

10.  My year abroad.  I just found out my favorite lecturer went to the university I will be going to next year.  It’s made me about 98.55% more excited for going abroad next year.

Your turn!  Name one, two, or fifty five things that have been making you awfully happy recently. 

6 thoughts on “Today I Choose Happy

  1. melissabedinger

    I totally admire your refusal to be bogged down. All the best of luck with your essays…I have my final exam tomorrow morning (followed by a night with the ‘Edinburgh Cake Ladies’ – which is the happy thing getting me through right now!).

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Thank you! Good luck with your exam, I hope it goes well. It’s so easy to become overwhelmed with all of these essays and exams, but who really needs exam season to be more stressful than it already is? 🙂

      Reply
  2. Meenakshi

    I think I shall also follow this mantra of today I choose happy. Don’t get me wrong; I am a happy person overall, but on a daily basis I think we all tend to overlook/take for granted the little (and big!) things which make us happy. I think I’ll jot down a list everyday. For today, it’s my son’t antics, lemon iced tea, and arrowroot biscuits 🙂

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I love the idea of writing down a list everyday, so lovely! Completely agree that we overlook the little things that make us happy, they can be hard to see in the midst of our hectic lives. Sounds like you have some very special things to make you happy. 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

