one year later…

Nel quasi-quarto del cammin della mia vita

mi ritrovai per una camera piccola

ché la divertita via era smartitta

Okay, fine.  I guess Dante is useful for something.

Roughly a year ago today, in the midst of writing an essay on gialli and The Courtier, I began this little blog.  I never really thought we would make it to a WHOLE YEAR together.  I never really thought anyone (except for my mom and dad, hi!) would read it.

But you know what?  I’ve been blogging for a year now and people are reading it.  I’m still shocked everyday.  I’m always delightfully giddy when I receive a comment (thank you to anyone who has ever commented on my blog, you are amazing).  I’m always excited to start a new post.  I now approach annoying/scary/humbling situations with ‘this might make a good blog post’.  It’s an outlook that has seriously helped me through some awkward times.  Say going insane in a spin class, not having any luck finding a good croissant in Bristol or waiting for a couple hours on the immigration line at Heathrow.

During the past year I’ve done a lot.  Next year?  Well, I’ll be doing even more.  I’ll be studying for the entire year in Italy.  I’ll be celebrating the world’s most ironic birthday (an American who studies in England turning twenty one in Italy).  I’ll be…well I’m sure there’s something else that I don’t even know about yet.  And I’m excited to find out what it is.

I started this blog to have fun, to spend some time admist revision and packing.  I didn’t realize how much I would come to love writing in the little white box.  I didn’t realize that it would help me become a more passionate, interesting and interested person.  The early blog posts don’t reflect who I am now or what my blog has become, but that’s cool.  Things change.

But the people who eat crisps in the library and leave their things there and go on facebook on public computers still annoy me.

Name one amazing thing you did in the past year!

7 thoughts on “one year later…

  1. Valerie

    Happy Blogiversary, Emilia! Even though sometimes Gravitar won’t always allow me to log in and leave a comment, I adore your blog! 🙂 A year in Italy will definitely bring even more writing inspiration.

    The only amazing thing that I did this year was chopping my hair off again, after waiting years for it to grow out…it’s been a slow year. :p

    Congrats again! xo

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Thank you so much! Getting a haircut is always a bit of a plunge, nothing to frown about in marking out the year 😉

      Reply
  2. Cathrine

    Congratulation! Love your blog and look forward to read about your adventures in Italy!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 300. « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

