Peanut Butter Biscuits

Sometime last week I started thinking about biscuits.  Not the fluffy American type mind you, though I do love those, but the crispy and oaty British ones.  My housemate had gotten the worlds largest pack of penguins and the idea of how they should taste infiltrated my mind.

Summer project: homemade version of penguins, or tim tams, if you prefer.

My dad loves peanut butter and hob nobs.  Last year, as I was in the airport about to board my plane, my dad asked if I could bring some home.  I told him I wasn’t sure if I would be able to find any; however, as I stood on line at WH Smith, getting some vittel water, I saw the blue cylinder.  I picked them up, shoved them in my already overstuffed bag and brought them home, somehow partially intact.

You can find them in America, but getting them in gourmet supermarkets seems wrong.  Buying them as an exotic, foreign, cookie for twice the price isn’t right.  These don’t have a place at your diner party, there’s nothing elegant about them.  These belong in a cookie jar, there to evoke the images of childhood, even if you didn’t eat them as a kid.   In America, they would stand next to fudge stripes and oreos on the supermarket shelves.

Friday, during some nice weather, I decided to bake. Some people might be tempted to get ice cream, fro-yo or frappuccinos when the mercury climbs, but I like to stay in the kitchen.  It’s nice and quiet, peaceful.  No one will disturb you; they’re outside sunning themselves.

These biscuits were quick, slap dash and perfect to satisfy a craving RIGHT NOW.  They could very easily be made vegan, made with less sugar, different flours, different nut butters.  This is more an outline of a recipe than a recipe.

 

Peanut Butter Biscuits

makes about twelve small biscuits

1/3 cup flour

2 Tablespoons oats

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 heaping Tablespoons peanut butter

1 Tablespoon oil (I used olive oil, you really can’t taste it)

1 Tablespoon Milk

hefty pinch of salt

Preheat over to 350/180.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl.  If your peanut butter is quite drippy, you can use as is, but you might want to warm it up a bit first (you can zap it in the microwave for ten seconds, don’t worry if you can’t though.  you’ll just have to stir a bit more).

Combine peanut butter, oil and vanilla.  Pour over dry ingredients.  Stir to combine.

Slowly, drizzle in the milk stirring as you go.  Keep adding milk until your mixture is slightly crumbly, but sticks together.  There should be small pieces, but clump when squished.

Roll dough into just-smaller-than-Tablespoon sized clumps and gently flatten on a baking sheet (or don’t flatten if you want chewier, doughier cookies).  Bake for 7-10 minutes, checking at the mid point to make sure they aren’t getting too brown.

The cookies won’t spread and you’ll know they are done when they are just set and the bottoms are barely golden.

Enjoy!

What’s your favorite kind of store bought cookie? 

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Biscuits

  1. cragsandveggies

    Trader Joes has some amazing chocolate chip and almond cookies that are bite sized, yummy! The almonds are small and the chocolate melts in your mouth, perfect with a glass of milk!

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Yum, those sound absolutely delicious! I love Trader Joes (seriously, who doesn’t?) but rarely ever go there, I’ll definitely have to look for those next time I go there 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

