Where is that exactly?

New York is a good place to come from.

There are a million reasons, I could go on forever probably, but being from a large city is especially useful when encountering the dreaded question: “where are you from”.  A vegetarian from Cuneo assured me that it will help me make friends in Italy.  At least I won’t have to explain where it is in another language.

Instead, I must explain where I am studying abroad in English, which can be difficult enough.  Especially when strange accents are involved.

Luckily, I have a blog where I can carefully write down a detailed explanation of where I’ll be.  Though, if you have ever looked at my pinterest board (though I don’t know why you would), you may have seen an increase in photos of a town that will soon be very special to me.

But, before we get to this big reveal, let me explain where I am not studying.  There are reasons for most of them, it was actually quite a methodical decision.

I am not studying in Florence.  I am not studying in Rome.  I am not studying in Venice, Palermo, Naples, Cagliari or Siena.

My university doesn’t offer an exchange with Rome.  Florence is way too typical, I would spend most of my time with American and British students.  Venice sounds amazing but the thought of finding accommodation makes me want to sob.  Palermo is palermo.  Naples is Naples.  Cagliari is too far away and I didn’t want to be in Tuscany.

I wanted to be in the North.  The North-West to be specific.  There’s a variety of reasons for this and none of them are particularly enlightened.  When I was writing my real application to my department, I made a joke list that may or may not have included nutella, fashion, magazines and awesome people.

I’m not studying in my first choice.  Not even top five.

I am, however, going to be in a small university town.  Right by Milan, in fact (yes, this makes me very happy).  My university just celebrated it’s six hundred and fiftieth birthday.

L’Università degli studi di Pavia better be ready to have Emilia there.  I’m sure the supermarkets will run out of tarallucci biscotti, cornetti and pesca te freddo in no time.

Have you ever been to Italy?  If so where, did you like it?  If not, where would you want to go?

One thought on “Where is that exactly?

  1. Kathryn

    I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never heard of Pavia (although a look on wikipedia reassured me that I knew it’s Latin name) but it looks like a wonderful place to spend a year. I’m so jealous and I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures!

    Reply

Have a comment?

