Summer Reading

Last Thursday, just as I finished my final exam of second year and began to enter into the aimless abyss that is the first couple days after finishing exams, I saw this post on Clean Eating Chelsey.  Summer reading.

The term may make most of us break out into a cold sweat remembering the god-awful books we had to slog through every summer during high school.  I still remember the anguish of reading Kite Runner, Middlesex and Brick Lane. The books may be modern classics, but they were never my cup of tea.

Chelsey, however, had a completely different take on it.  A take that I loved.  Her post detailed the books she’s planning to read this summer.  Inspiration struck, why don’t I do the same?

Whenever I’m deciding what to read next I get stuck in the confusion of decision.  Having a list is always good, but sometimes too much.  So, here are the books I’m planning to read this summer.  Or at least the four I am planning to read in June.  Who knows, I may even make it through more this month!

Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close – Okay I actually already started this.  And finished it.  I loved it.  The premise is following a bunch of girls in their lives post-college graduation.  Those books always fascinate me!  If you liked Commencement (on of my favorite books ever) you’ll like this.

The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner – Ever since someone recommended this book to me on my blog, I’ve been dying to read it!  Part travelogue and part happiness book, it’s the memoir of a self-confessed grump figuring out what makes people in different parts of the world happy.

Paris, I Love You but You’re Bringing Me Down by Rosencrans Baldwin – I may not be the biggest fan of Paris, but I’m down for reading any book that talks about living abroad.  A memoir of Baldwin’s time spent living in Paris, examining the city from the inside.  It just came out, but the price is such that I think it will make the perfect plane book!

I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley – People have touted Sloane Crosley as the new David Sedaris and whilst I’m not exactly a lover of humor, this book seems awesome.  A collection of essays, each following something that goes wrong in Crosley’s life, discussing the ups and downs of urban life.  I can’t wait.  I’ve ordered it on paperback swap, so it will definitely be the first book I pick up when I get home!

What are you planning to read this summer?

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading

    1. Emilia Post author

      Yay, I hope you find some great books to read this summer. If you read one of these, be sure to let me know what you thought! 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

