Just Like Home: The Better Food Company’s Croissant

I guess you could say that I’m kind of an odd eater.  I’m sure my housemates would agree as I soak dried chickpeas and fill the crisper section of our refrigerator.  At least, I hope they think I have a freak diet.  I don’t really want anyone who calls baked beans a vegetable to think I eat normally.

Sometimes it feels as if the local Sainsbury supports my housemates style of eating more than my ow, making sure the shelves are stocked with packaged curry sauces, but always forgetting to put out fresh arugula.  Luckily,  The Better Food Company supports me.  They bridge the gap between what I eat in America (Tempeh!  Tempeh!) and what I eat in England (how much asparagus can one person eat?).  They sell farm fresh produce and a variety of random organic packaged foods that may seem strange to other people, but are a bit too-much like coming home for me.  I go there every chance I can, which is to say, quite infrequently.

I decided to try their croissant to kick off the bank holiday weekend.  Last year, I passed the shop everyday on my way to and from uni and was always tempted by their weekday pastry and coffee offer.  The croissants had to be good, or at least edible, to warrant this advertising, right?

As I walked in and surveyed the pastry board, I saw one lone quasi-sunken croissant.  I had no hope for this pastry.  None.  I knew I wouldn’t find anything else nearby so I paid the £3.45 for my croissant and cappuccino and sat down in the window.

Their seating could seem horrendous—it’s just some stools in a window—but is quite lovely.  You can people watch, tucked away in a little corner of the store.  Despite the unorthodox layout, it feels as if you could sit there forever.  I didn’t feel rushed.

The pastry, I realized as it was placed in front of me, bears a shocking similarity to Patisserie Claude’s croissant.  Those, however, are soaked in butter in the best possible way.  This one, well, it was a bit more English: it was bready.  There were barely any distinction between layers, though it pulled apart in a highly satisfying manner and was sufficiently browned on the outside.

You are probably waiting for me to tell you that it was a bad, or at least “meh”, croissant.  But I’m not.  I actually quite liked it.  The butter taste was there, it had a taste that wasn’t chemically and I fully believed that a person made it as opposed to a machine.  This may not be the ideal croissant, probably better to satisfy a bread craving, but it was good.  The cappuccino was also better than expected and was the perfect accompaniment.

The lesson?  Don’t judge a croissant by it’s cover.  And weird food habits can lead to great things.

What are you favorite foods?  The ones you are pretty sure you could live off of without needing anything else?

Have a comment?

