The weekend: Brooklyn Flea and English Muffins

Brooklyn Flea and english muffins:  that was my weekend.  I would say it was a much-needed break but, after being annoyingly sick for the majority of last (in summer no less!), I was more than ready to be fun-busy.  Fun as in waking up early to get a croissant.  After all that is how every good weekend should begin.

My mother and I went to Almondine, a bastille celebration of sorts, for my favorite pastry.  We hadn’t been there for nearly two weeks; a painfully long time.  It was, as it always is, a perfect start to the weekend.  It’s one of the few traditions I support freely, partly because there is good food and good company.  Strange how few traditions really cover those basics.

A couple of hours after that, Williamsburg began to call my name.  Or rather, coffee and Brooklyn Flea began to call my name, I’m not such a fan of Williamsburg.  I wrote ‘meh’ review about Gimme!  Coffee back in January and I stand behind that review.  The latte I got there earned a solid ‘meh’ rating.  Really good, but not fantastic.  The cappuccino I had at their location on Roebling Street?  One of the best cappuccinos I’ve ever had.  Seriously, I could not stop raving about this drink.  It was richy, creamy and coffee-y in all the right ways.  Bonus?  The people who worked there were nice.  Forget everything else I’ve said about Williamsburg coffee.  Go there.

Then, onto Brooklyn Flea.  Ever since they re-opened with the exciting Smorgasboard market on Saturday I’d been dying to go.  Brooklyn Flea is a bunch of food stalls set up  in a lot.  You can walk around, have some samples and get a meal.  You’re there for lunch.  I don’t really know what I was expecting, but I was a wee bit underwhelmed.  There seemed to be mostly meatastic options, which is great, if you eat meat.  I don’t.

Luckily, there were some vegetarian options.  Some top-notch ones at that.  I ordered a bbq tempeh salad bowl from Barry’s Tempeh and, my goodness, it was fantastic.  If you ask me, I had the best meal.

I also expected more dessert options.  There were some, but less that you would think.  Still, I managed to find a cookie stand and got a blueberry vanilla cookie.  It was fantastic.  The flavor combination reminded me a bit of Momofuku Milk Bar’s blueberry and cream cookie, but better.  Way better.  The texture was right on point, slightly crunchy, but mostly chewy.  I also got two more to sample later.  The chocolate chip one was meh, but the chocolate mocha stout cookie was another winner.

Then Saturday took a dull turn for the worse that would be a waste of time to recount through words.  Let’s leave it at this, IKEA is better quality than we all thought.

Sunday began with a homemade yogurt parfait and a long overdue bike ride.  A bike ride that reminded me the real reasons why I don’t particularly like flying or riding in cars.  The speed!  I am so bad with being in a fast moving contraption.  Curiously, I’m fine with trains.  Perhaps this has something to do with growing up in NYC, but I’d rather not analyze so I can have at least one fast moving mode of transportation that’s not (yet) ruined for me.

Then, I made english muffins.  I have been craving english muffins for a disturbingly long time for someone who cannot remember the last english muffin she made.  They’re incredibly easy.  Like one of the easiest and most fool-proof breads I have EVER made.  In fact, I can’t believe I didn’t make them sooner.  Check out the recipe I used over at Annie’s Eats.

And, to relax, I read the new Meg Cabot book.  Expect a glowing review soon because Meg Cabot is another one of those authors who I kinda have a writer’s crush on.  My favorite book she wrote?  Either Princess Diaries #10 or one of the 1-800-Where-R-U books.  Love!

How was your weekend?  What was the most exciting thing you did?  

One thought on “The weekend: Brooklyn Flea and English Muffins

  1. Pingback: A Day of Perfect Meals (as inspired by Spilled Milk) « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

