300.

I didn’t expect this post to sneak up on me so stealthily.

I thought that, by the time this momentous occasion rolled around, I’d have some idea what to do with it.  But then again, I thought that post 100, 200 and 250 would be a bit more ‘I HAVE ARRIVED’ than they actually were.  I should probably learn that things never happen that way.  Things aren’t always as figured out as they seem.

I thought, and sometimes continue to think, that an imaginary (soft) anvil would bonk me on the head to let me know that, yes Emilia, you can stop worrying.  You are here and here is exactly where you need to be.  But, I’ve slowly realized over these three-hundred posts, that’s never ever going to happen.  So, I have to do it myself.

I HAVE ARRIVED.  MY BLOG IS HERE.

I think I might prefer the do-it-yourself way.

Three hundred posts, just a bit over a year.  My blog has changed from where I thought it would go, but you can read more about that over here.  Who knew I’d visit that many cafes and learn that, yes, I do know how to discern the differences between a chocolate and lemon flavor in coffee.  Who knew I’d eat that many croissants and learn that much about how they taste, how they are made and how texture is the biggest part.  Who knew what would happen when I first started.  I sure didn’t.

Here are three random things that have become a part of my life since I’ve started blogging.  The little lessons, the fun pointless ones, that I’ve learnt since I began.  Now that I have a mess of posts, I might as well try to put some order to them.  Because we have arrived.  And we don’t need anyone to knock us over the head with an imaginary anvil to remind us that our time is now.

1. I really prefer to bake cookies to cakes and breads to most anything else.  Not to mention, I’ve become pretty good at improvising cookie recipes, at least when they involve peanut butter.

2.  Non-fiction books rock my socks.  If you feel like you can’t read non fiction here are the three books that I’d shove in your bag to help you get into the real-life-is-awesome vibe:

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

Born To Run by Christopher McDougall

3.  I love coffee and I love cafes.  I can drink an espresso with the best of them and I’ve even pulled a shot on a La Marzocco.  Though I wish I could tell you that I was born with mad espresso skills, I pulled quite the bitter shot.  I think I’ll stick with moka, chemex and cafes for a bit.  My favorite cafes in NYC are:

Saturdays Surf Shop

Abraco

Cafe Integral (which I will be discussing very, very soon)

Yep, I think it’s safe to say that three hundred posts have certainly introduced me to a few more things that were missing before.  If you’ll excuse me, I have to go get working.  But don’t worry, I’ll write about it later.

How have you embellished your life in the past year?

Have a comment?

