Taking Charge: Momofuku’s Compost Cookie

I bake cookies when it’s 94 degrees out.  Sorry, I’m not sorry.

Yep, I only get my big, american oven for a few months out of the year so I work my hardest to take advantage of those few precious months.  It would be wrong to neglect my KitchenAid mixer.  The spatula would certainly cry without me and I don’t even want to think what my aprons would do if I abandoned them.  It wouldn’t be a pretty sight.

Baking in the heat isn’t for the unprepared, though.  It’s always nice when a recipe involves a nice long cooling period in the refrigerator so you don’t have to be in the kitchen while the oven is preheating.  And that’s part of the reason I would recommend making some momofuku cookies when the temperature climbs.  They’re actually quite the hands-off affair.

I’ve made nearly all of the cookie recipes in the cookbook with the exception of the cornflake/mini marshmallow/chocolate chip cookies and the corn cookies.  While I know it’s only a matter of time before I am sitting here, congratulating myself on finishing all of the cookie recipes in this book (scratch that, the ENTIRE cookbook), I haven’t made them simply because they are some of the less appealing cookie recipes in my cookbook library.  I thought the compost cookies would be the same.

And then I decided to add what I want.  Because I am that freak who doesn’t really like potato chips anyway.

Customizing is in the spirit of the compost cookie.  Throw whatever is lingering about your cupboard into the mixing bowl and see how it fares in the oven.  Hopefully it will be great, in fact that money’s on your side.  It’s sort of like the grown-up sister to the monster cookie.  There’s a reason people love kitchen-sink style cookies.  They’re surprising and no two are exactly the same, even within the same batch.

I threw out the rules.  Well, sort of.  I used the same proportions of ingredients suggested in the recipe for the add-ins, but only used some of their recommendations.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever bought butterscotch chips, but I had some white and milk chocolate chips that were begging to be used.  I don’t like chips and I can’t remember the last time I had a pretzel, so in went cinnamon crunch cereal and raisins.  I kept the oats and coffee grounds as is.  Because I love oats, but I might love coffee even more.  I even threw in some shredded coconut for good measure.

How did they turn out?

They were good.  All the flavors managed to blend together to create cookie that seemed strangely cohesive.  This might just be the coffee fanatic in me talking, but I really think the coffee was the key ingredient.  It united a cookie that might otherwise seem chaotic.  It prevented the cookie from being TOO tooth-achingly sweet.  Even though I know Milk Bar cookies are known for being some of the sweetest cookies around, this one stretched the sweetness level for me.  I think that was partly due to the white and milk chocolate, which, let’s be honest, are pretty near-disgustingly sweet on their own.  Nevertheless, I enjoyed the textures, the flavors and the contrasts.  But next time I will need to pay more attention to the sweeteners!

Oh, and if you were wondering, you CAN totally half these recipes and get good results, just be careful about the egg.  If you’re a recipe-halving pro, like I pretend to be, I’m sure you’re brilliant about finagling half and egg into your batter.

What are your dream cookie add ins?

2 thoughts on “Taking Charge: Momofuku’s Compost Cookie

  1. Leesah Em

    I have made these cookies according to the recipe (ie with chips, pretzles and butterscotch chips) and the saltiness of these three items helps cut a bit of the sweetness of the cookies. That being said, however, they are still quite sweet. Oh and def. make the chocolate chip marshmallow cornflake crunch cookies–they are pretty amazing.

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      I didn’t even think about how the saltiness might balance out the sweetness, but that totally makes sense! Thanks 🙂 I am super excited about making the marshmallow cornflake cookies, everyone seems to love them

      Reply

Have a comment?

