I Love My Weekend

For the past two years I’ve had three day weekends and four day weeks.  Sure, I love it.  It’s great to be able to relax with those extra days, but I always found that, by the time Sunday rolled around, I would get annoylingly restless and antsy.  Monday was the best, simply because I finally had an excuse to stop being a lazy bum, do my hair and put on a nice outfit.  The three day weekend is fun, but it’s more fun when it’s a once-in-a-while activity.

That’s part of the reason why I’m loving working Mondays and Fridays at my internship this summer.  The weekend has meaning once again!  I get two days to actually do something with.  It’s awesome.  I love it.  I am the freak who likes to be busy and loves Monday morning.  I love getting up early and I love going on a crowded rush-hour subway train to work.

Wait, maybe not that last bit.

When my weekend begins with an early afternoon on Friday, watching the opening ceremonies (seriously felt like I waited three years for those things) and a mint-chocolate-chip ice-y, I’m more than eager to welcome two days of complete and total relaxation with wide open arms.  For the record, I was bored by the opening ceremonies.  Except I did like when David Beckham was driving the boat, but then again, who didn’t?

Saturday may have been grey and threatening rain—a weather state that I believe should be reserved exclusively for Sunday, but Mother Nature doesn’t always listen to me—but I managed to have a lovely, lovely day.  I ate a croissant and made iced coffee.  I went to yoga at Strala where I sweated more than I thought possible (it wasn’t even that hot out!) and was delighted when my train was running express.  I finished a book that I started only a couple days ago, it was pretty awesome.  The big part of Saturday was seeing some high school friends with whom I spend entirely too little time.

I always wondered what it would be like to meet up with people you used to see every day, but then lose touch with.  The first time it happened was surprising.  Meeting high school friends is like meeting high school friends.  You see them and forget for a moment that you ever left high school and then you end up talking about quintessentially university things like frat parties (them), horrible house-mates (me) and how much it stinks to be twenty (all of us, all for different reasons).  On one hand you feel the same as you did when you are seventeen and on the other hand you feel like you’ve really changed at twenty.  There were three of us being ridiculous in our own unique way.  We walked nearly two miles and talked about where all of our friends ended up.  It was great.  I didn’t even mind that I didn’t get home until one thirty.

Yet, because I sometimes think I am a freak of nature, I still managed to get up at eight the next morning.  At eight the next morning without an alarm.  My alarm was set for nine.  I sat in bed, said some affirmations, read Nancy Drew (remember?  it’s the one thing I can claim to collect.  well, those and betty and veronica comic books) and did some yoga.

And then the day began.  It was chilled out in all the best ways whilst also being perfectly busy.  The perfect line that is oh-so-hard to draw sometimes.  My big challenge of the day?  Making a loaf of Country Bread from Baking With Julia.  I’ve made so many of the bread recipes in this book by now, I’ve learnt so much.  If you want to get a start on bread baking, I couldn’t recommend that book highly enough.  I thought this would be a disaster, yet somehow the bread came out.  It was good, though a bit bland.

I’m actually a little sad to see this weekend come to an end, but I’m so excited for the week coming up.  Getting to see friends, go to work, enjoy the last lingering bits of late light and spend a bit of time goofing around in the kitchen, it’s going to be fun.

How was your weekend?  Are you looking forward to the coming week?

One thought on “I Love My Weekend

  1. The Food Yogi

    I didn’t know you go to Strala. Maybe I’ll see you there sometime! I’m doing the teacher training in the fall. (I meant to go to class this weekend but studying and other errands and stuff with friends got in the way) 🙂

    Reply

Have a comment?

