Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

You wouldn’t know from the reviews I’ve posted here, but Emily Giffin is one of my favorite fiction authors.  Her books always feel surprisingly relevant, even if the situations have nothing (and usually less than nothing ) to do with my real life.  I can sit and read, absorbed in the world of the book for hours without a care in the world.  Fantastic.

I first read her books in summer 2010, right before leaving for university.  I started with Something Borrowed (obviously) and moved right along to Something Blue.  Both made me love the main character and root for her completely, no matter how much I liked/didn’t like her in the previous novel.  Even the movie adaption of Something Borrowed was awesome.  The amount of Shake Shack burgers they ate?  Hysterical.  The casting?  Pretty good.

I wrote this book’s release date down in my diary, eagerly awaiting the arrival.  I had planned to buy the kindle version for my trip to Providence, but, about a week before, there was a feature about this book on Chick Lit is Not Dead.  I posted a comment and won a copy of the book.  Seriously?!? I though, how lucky am I?  I couldn’t really believe it, this stuff doesn’t happen to me.  So, thanks Chick Lit is Not Dead!  Love the blog and was thrilled to receive a hardback copy of this book.  You guys rock.

Onto the story…

Where We Belong follows the story of Marian and Kirby.  They meet and go on an adventure to discover new layers to themselves that they didn’t know and learn where their place is in their respective worlds.  I’m not telling you more of a summary than that because, as we know, Giffin’s novels are full of twists and turns that keep you reading.  Twists and turns that feel 100% natural.

I was shocked at how quickly I read this book and how much I enjoyed it.  The ending surprised me when it came, I was expecting fifty or so more pages.  That’s part of the delight in reading a Giffin novel, she always knows how to surprise you and make you enjoy the shock.  The characters feel completely natural and, even if you can’t relate to the plot specifics (and if you can, well, good luck), you will identify with the characters’ struggles.  The book is so amazing because it takes a unique situation and makes it more about our feelings than the nitty gritty specifics.

As you can tell, I loved it.  While it might not be my favorite Giffin book, it is certainly one that I will look forward to reading again.  The characters will stay in my mind for quite sometime and the message will be one that I will gladly carry with me as I venture to Italy.  Read this book, tell a friend to read this book, tell the person sitting next to you on the subway/standing next to you on the grocery line/serving you coffee to read this book.  You won’t be disappointed.

Do you enjoy books that make you cry, or at least threaten to make you cry?  Do you steer clear of those kinds of stories?

One thought on “Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

  1. Pingback: An Authentic Happy List « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

