Labor Day Weekend

I have a love/hate relationship with the holiday weekend.  I know, everybody is supposed to love them, but honestly, I’d rather be sitting down to an 11:30 brunch without having eaten before hand after waking up at 7:30 than endure a long weekend sometimes.  There was that business with the world’s longest holiday weekend, also known as the Queen’s diamond jubilee, starting the day after I finished exams.  Sure, it was pretty cool to be in England for the event, but who wants a four day weekend that shuts everything down when you would much rather be out, sitting at a cafe?

I nearly forgot about labor day weekend.  Who wants to celebrate the end of summer?  No one really is excited about returning to school, returning to longer days of work and the arrival of shorter evenings and dark mornings.  Nobody announces the arrival of labor day weekend on television and you don’t have a school holiday to remind you either.  If it wasn’t for the fact that I would have gone into work on Monday if there wasn’t a holiday, I probably wouldn’t have realized the arrival of labor day weekend until there was no one—and I mean no one—in my neighborhood yesterday.  I hope you are all having a wonderful time on Cape Cod while I’m here.  Actually, I’d prefer to be in the city.  Highway traffic will be a nightmare.

So, labor day weekend.  Three days to say goodbye to summer at the beach.  If you like the beach and I really don’t.  I only remember one labor day weekend that was spent away, in a sort of proper labor day weekend way.  Other than that, it’s always been my parents and I at home.  My mom getting ready for her new classes and me either preparing for school, or enjoying the last few weeks before leaving for university.  Right now, I’m in a frenzy of planning and tying up loose end-of-summer ends.  It’s nice, but sad as well.

The long weekend leaves me feeling without purpose for three (or four) days.  It’s a rude interruption that takes me out of my routine.  I like my routine.  I also like breaking my routine while still keeping the basics the same.  Although a Monday off sounds great on Sunday, mid-day Monday is never as exciting as it seems.  I wish it was.

There are plans, but without my routine plans get stalled.  Everyone’s away, it feels lonely.  Things close, you can’t just go to a cafe to get coffee.  Life seems a bit slower.  I’m from New York; I don’t like it.  I want to be busy, to have the outside world match the pace at which my mind runs.  It’s a lot quicker than I can run, that’s for sure.

This past weekend, I was fortunate enough to have a mix of exciting and relaxing.  There were cupcakes from Georgetown cupcakes involved, which is always a good thing.  There was shopping with my grandmother that resulted in a blue blazer that I’ve been lusting after for quite sometime.  I also enjoyed a class at Strala, a new book, Clueless, magazines and a failed attempt at making croissants.  By the way, anyone from New York?  You really must try Barry’s Tempeh.  Delicious.

So, now I’m ready for a new week.  I’m rested, reuvenated and prepared for what is ahead.  I hope it’s busy and I hope it’s quick because, like standing on an immigration line after a long-haul flight, I’m ready to use my legs to run.

Do you like long-weekends?  What do you usually do when you have a three day weekend?

Have a comment?

