What I Learnt This Weekend…

IMG_2927

…every weekend is better when it starts with a huge accomplishment.  This time?  Finishing my Nano novel for the second year in a row.  Completely worth the sleep deprivation.

…I’m never going to like eating breakfast standing up.

…even rainy Saturdays can be filled with the holiday spirit.

…don’t be tempted to order a cocktail at a pub just because the French kids are doing it.  You will regret it.

…sweet potatoes do exist in Italy.

…I don’t care how silly it seems, I’m seriously loving The Fame Game.

…parents in Pavia are just as dramatic as parents in New York, except they’re also Italian.

…nothing is quite as great as a sunny Sunday afternoon after a week of rain.

zucchini bread oatmeal might be even better than carrot cake oatmeal.

…sometimes talking in Italian can be easier than talking in English.

…nothing works better than a long walk to get the mind going on Sunday.

…Sunday brunch can be enjoyed alone, especially if it involves a peppermint mocha, blog reading and lasts for nearly two hours.

…lice in Italian is pedocchi.

…you know the scene in The Princess Diaries when Mia’s hair breaks the comb?  Turns out my hair can do the same with lice combs.

agiografico = hagiography = the study of saints.  Exactly the kind of thing that will help get me top marks in my degree.

Hey It’s Christmas! Vol 3 is amazing.  Download it now, you won’t be sorry.

…figuring out if I want a sweater from J Crew for Christmas is difficult business.

…you can never have too many advent calendars.

…there’s nothing I’d rather do in the evening than have a crazy long skype with my mom.  It’s what all the cool kids are doing.

What did you learn this weekend?

2 thoughts on “What I Learnt This Weekend…

  1. Ricki

    What a great list! To me, every item sounds either a) delicious; b) like fun; or c) educational. All three things that I love! 😀 Thanks so much for the link to my Zucchini Bread Oatmeal, too. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Emilia Post author

      Haha, I guess it’s true, my weekend was delicious, fun and just a hint educational. I loved the zucchini bread oatmeal, brilliant recipe. I have to try it with proper steel cut oatmeal, I imagine the texture is even more zucchini bead like 🙂

      Reply

Have a comment?

