Scenes from the Holiday

Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 11.33.47 AM Screen shot 2012-12-25 at 11.33.57 AM

As you’re reading this, I’m still trudging through familial obligations with family.  Do I sound less than happy?  You know how it is.  No matter how you feel towards these people, after days upon days of being together things get difficult.  Still, I’ve had a beautiful holiday season and want to take some time to reflect upon some of the truly stand-out moments.

…arriving home to find the world’s biggest tree sitting in my living room.  I’m kind of joking, but not really.  My mother said that they had to buy extra fairy lights for it.

…walking through the union square christmas market sipping on hot apple cider.

…and then splitting a woodchuck winter cider with my parents for dinner.  This is seriously one of the best ciders I’ve ever tasted.  Considering hoarding some, it’s that good!

…going back to Strala and feeling as if I’ve never left.  And doing a handstand.  Twice.

…finally trying Cafeteria while catching up with two of my oldest and closest friends.

…making plans to go out for dim sum.

…having Christmas music on repeat pretty much 24/7.

…great books to read!

…amazing food to eat (seriously, peppermint bark and vegan cornbread stuffing?  to die for)

…drinking a few too many cups of Counter Culture’s holiday blend.  So, so good when brewed in a chemex with the tiniest dash of milk.

…Christmas eve lunch at Jane that involved mushroom soup, perfectly steamed broccoli, trying a mussel and a bite of johnny benedict.  Perfect setting for my family’s annual lunch out.

…I tried to make this buche de noel, nearly destroyed it and then decided to turn it into a layer cake instead.

…I am now the proud owner of a Nikon 1.  Now, to figure out how to work this.  #soexcited

…yes, my parents really did get me a Seinfeld inspired shirt for the imaginary Susan Biddle Ross 5k.  I put it on immediately.

…I love wreaths.  Can you tell from all the photos I’ve taken of wreaths?

How have you been spending your holiday?  

Have a comment?

