Reflections on 2012

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 2.56.28 PM

How did the past 366 days pass so quickly?  More than any year previously I think the answer to that is: time flies when you’re having fun.  2012 has, without a doubt, been the most incredible year yet.  I feel like my life has been on an upward trajectory since I was about fifteen and with all I have planned for this year — from starting my final year of university to traipsing around Italy — things don’t show any sign of slowing down!

There’s been so much that happened this year that I don’t even know how to think about it.  What stands out?  Was crossing the finish line at the Bristol 10k while listening to 1973 the best moment?  Was it working for The Daily Meal this summer?  Was it arriving in Italy, learning how things worked or walking around a foggy Venice?  Could it have been my twentieth birthday and the spur of the moment trip I took to london?  Or perhaps it was the trip I took to see Gabrielle Bernstein speak the month after?  There were so many standout moments from this year, I can barely wrap my head around it.  I wrote a bit yesterday about my highlights from the year, but it truly only scratches the surface.  And an update, as of 8:30 pm yesterday I’ve officially read 52 new books this year.  I’m in shock.

Last year, I remember reading so many blog posts debating resolutions.  I am a resolution girl.  I can’t help it.  I get a thrill at trying to accomplish a challenge.  Checking things off of a list gets my blood pumping.  Last year, I chose words to think about and shape my year after reading several blog posts about it.  It was revolutionary.  F0r 2012 my words were ADVENTURE and CHALLENGE (heaven knows I certainly had my fair share of both!).  I only casually thought of them, but simply setting that intention guided me further than I would have been guided without those words sitting in my mind and my filofax.  For 2013 my words are AUTHENTICITY and LOVE.

Seem strange?  Perhaps, but after a year focused on pushing myself to expect more and do more, I’m ready to experience something softer.  Instead of thinking about how I can simply stretch beyond my perceptions of myself, I want to think about how I can move forward in my perceptions of other people while staying true to myself.  Authenticity honors what I have learnt about myself during the past year while discovering new facets about myself.  Love encourages me to experience more, feel more and reflect more.

There are so many things I’m excited about for the coming year.  I’ll be starting my final year of university (!!).  I’ll be travelling in Italy.  I’m going to Paris with my mother.  I’m turning 21 (there will be ironic legal drinking involved.  I’m an American who can already name her first legal drink in Italy where drinking isn’t crazy regulated).  I’ll be finishing my erasmus year.  I have so many plans for my blog and for other things I’m writing.  There is so much coming up.

So let’s get out there and start making these things happen!  Choose today and don’t wait for tomorrow to put your resolutions into action.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

What is one of your resolutions for the new year?  What was a highlight from the past year?

One thought on “Reflections on 2012

  1. Pingback: A Month, A Challenge, A Year: My 2013 Action Plan « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

