Transportation and Country Hopping

DSC_0220

By the time you’re reading this, I’ll be on a plane from Paris to Milan.  Let’s just ignore the fact that I fely completely jet-setter/sophisticated/worldly/not American when booking this ticket.  Going to an airport other than the oh-so-dull JFK or out-of-the-way Newark?  I’ll take it!

But onto more serious and interesting matters other than what gets my ego off (because I could totally write a book on that you know).  I’ve been country hopping these past few days and I have no plans to slowing down in the near future.  After arriving at Malpensa early on January 8th, I went back to Pavia to sit an exam (let’s not talk about this) and then promptly headed to the train station for an overnight train to Paris.

Why was I going to Paris?  My mother and her friend had made plans years ago to visit the city when there was supposed to be an important costume history show up.  There wasn’t, it moved venues, but they decided to go anyway.  I was home for a painfully short time, wanted to see my mother and decided that Italy and France were close by.  Why not simply hop on over?  The rest, as they say, is history.

Or at least a series of really annoying experiences on the Thello website trying to buy my train ticket.

It’s never easy to go back to university and the combination of exams and jet lag isn’t making anything easier.  As much as I’ve grown not to mind flying, I can’t wait for the next time I simply take a trip.  I can’t wait to pack a bag without thinking about how much it weighs and what I will eventually have to bring back with me.  Oh how carefree the days of week long trips now seem!  I am completely and totally jealous of myself.

I hope your January has gotten off to a brilliant start.  Mine certainly has been less than traditional, here’s to a calmer end to January.

Do you like traveling a lot or do you prefer to stay in one place?

One thought on “Transportation and Country Hopping

  1. Pingback: A Paris Weekend: the good, the bad and the surprising « emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

