What to eat for Saturday breakfast

Brunch

I’m kind of sick of the brioche.  There, I said it.

The brioche doesn’t have the buttery appeal of the croissant.  If I can’t have one sitting down in a cafe with a decent coffee, I kind of don’t care.  I’d rather put together my own little breakfast, with imperfectly made coffee from a moka than drink lukewarm milk and munch on some sugar.  So, no more brioche posts for a little while.  Instead, I’m sharing some delectable breakfast options with you guys.  There are plenty out there.  In fact, it’s the absolute litany of delicious choices that keeps me from heading to the pasticceria for a brioche.

Here are some delicious meals that will make sure that you don’t skip the most important meal of the day, no matter how little sleep you got the night before, how rushed you are or how empty the fridge may be.  After writing this, I’m thinking it might be a breakfast-for-dinner kind of day … what do you think?

Ginger, Lemon, Strawberry Avocado Toast – Avocado toast is a classic, simple breakfast, but this sweet/savory version is the perfect way to revamp it for spring.  I’m thinking blackberries would also be fantastic on this tartine.

Baked Breakfast Cookie – Unlike the cookies Italian children eat for breakfast, these aren’t loaded down with sugar and flour.  Instead, they’re fortified with nut butter, oats, protein powder and whatever mix-ins you can imagine.  I like to use sunflower seed butter, but almond butter, cashew butter, even tahini would work.

Raw Oatmeal – The idea is the same as muesli/overnight oats, but what I love about this recipe is that it breaks it down and makes it QUICK.  After all, who can remember to prepare breakfast in the evening anyway.

Lemon Blueberry Waffles – When it comes to an indulgent breakfast, I fall solidly into the waffles/french toast camp.  These lemon blueberry waffles look to die for and perfect for a lazy, spring brunch.  Bonus?  They’re vegan and gluten free so everyone can enjoy.

Cake Batter Green Smoothie – It’s a little bit ridiculous how obsessed I am with this smoothie.  Although you can make it super healthy, I like to kick up the indulgence a bit by using Liberté coconut yogurt.  Trust me, after trying this, greens for breakfast won’t sound so strange.  In fact, you may start craving it.

Kale, Egg and Avocado Toast A variation on this is one of my favorite quick lunches, the addition of avocado is fantastic for a lazy weekend breakfast.  Don’t have kale?  You could also use chard, spinach, arugula, or any leaf you don’t mind wilting a bit!

Yogurt with Peanut Butter, Honey and Graham Crackers Looks incredible decadent, but depending on which yogurt you use, this is a surprisingly healthy breakfast!  Greek yogurt and a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter (or almond butter, or sunflower seed butter, or chocolate hazelnut butter … the possibilities are endless) are delicious enough on their own, but the addition of graham crackers makes a fun addition.  I would leave out the honey or replace it with jam.  Fig or apricot sounds good to me!

What is your favorite weekend breakfast?

3 thoughts on “What to eat for Saturday breakfast

Have a comment?

