Photos Around Italy: Tuscany

DSC_4690

I’ve been traveling around Italy for the past couple of weeks with my parents.  It’s been many things, sometimes fun, sometimes chaotic, sometimes annoying.  Here are some of my favorite photos from our time in Tuscany.  We visited Lucca (go for Gelateria Veneta.  I promise you won’t regret it.), Florence and Siena.  We walked up plenty of hills and spent our fair share of time dodging tourists.  Tuscany is, after all, mainly inhabited by Americans and Brits (though there were a few run-ins with Japanese and Russian tour groups).

DSC_4775

The traditional view of Italy, the rolling hills and cypress trees, is Tuscany.  Walking around these towns, looking out the window on the train and seeing the sites, I was shocked at how much our view of Italy really is Tuscany.  These images all screamed Italy to me, yet I knew that it wasn’t the case.  Italy is more than long nights and red vespas, but these images obviously filtered into the tourist mind, itenirary and suitcase.  It wasn’t hot, but I can’t tell you how many people I saw wearing shorts.

DSC_4639

 

As much as I enjoy traveling around Tuscany, like the good American I am, it isn’t my favorite part of Italy.  Sure, there is a high concentration of really important, really famous stuff there, but there’s nothing new.  Tuscany feels completely discovered, I don’t know how to find my own little bit and, frankly, I don’t want to.

Thus, it was fitting that the city my parents and I went to after our Tuscan sojurn was Naples.  Now that’s one city I cannot wait to tell you about.

Have you ever been to Tuscany?  What did you think?  If not, do you want to go?  

5 thoughts on “Photos Around Italy: Tuscany

  1. Pingback: Photos Around Italy: Naples | emilialiveslife

    1. Emilia Post author

      Haha, definitely in on keeping other areas of Italy a secret, though I think dodgy train service and spotty bus schedules will help hide other gems as well 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The Best Desserts in Italy | emilialiveslife

Have a comment?

